× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Basketball Athletics Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Opinion Motorsport Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Shock as Bitok drops Makuto, Wamanya from Malkia Strikers squad

WOMEN IN SPORTS By Elvince Joshua | June 25th 2021
Malkia Strikers at Kasarani stadium. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

Experienced libero Elizabeth Wanyama and utility player Violet Makuto have both been dropped from the Malkia Strikers squad for Tokyo Olympics Games.

 Makuto who can play both as a centre-blocker as well as a right attacker was axed as Head Coach Paul Bitok named the final travelling squad of 12 players who will carry the country’s flag at the Tokyo Olympics Games.

 Bitok said that the technical bench relied on individual statics in coming up with the list.

 Agripina Kundu was picked ahead of Wanyama who boasts of over a decade stint at the national team.

 “Daily data of training, statistics and merits prevailed,” said Bitok in a statement.

 With Makuto out, Bitok will travel with just two opposite players- Sharon Chepchumba and Emmaculate Chemtai.

 “I know it's painful to the two players because they are regular players in the team of 14 members but unfortunately Olympics doesn't use 14 players like other FIVB competitions.

 The affected players will continue training with the rest of the squad until 5th July, one day before Malkia strikers depart for Kurume City for a three-week training camp in Japan.

 “In the event that they (dropped players) do better than the named players; then the Technical Bench will change the players,” added Bitok.

 The deadline for submitting the final list is 5th July 2020.

 Full squad

 Left Attackers: Mercy Moim, Noel Murambi, Pamela Jepkirui and Leunida Kasaya.

 Middle Blockers: Edith Mukuvilani, Lorine Chebet and Gladys Ekaru.

 Opposite Attackers: Sharon Chepchumba and Emmaculate Chemtai.

 Setters: Jane Wacu and Joy Lusenaka.

 Libero: Agripna Kundu.

 Dropped Players: Violet Makuto and Elizabeth Wanyama.?

Share this story
Opening Ceremony: Kenya takes her pride of place as 2020 Tokyo Paralympic Games begin
Team Kenya Paralympics strolled majestically into the Tokyo Olympic Stadium led by captain Rodgers Kiprop and Powerlifter Hellen Wawira for the Openin