Kipchoge, Korir and Cheruiyot listed for the World Athlete of the Year award

World Marathon record holder Eliud Kipchoge [Courtesy]

Three Kenyan male athletes are among 10 IAAF nominees for the Male World Athlete of the Year award.

World Marathon record holder Eliud Kipchoge, 800m world’s fastest man since 2012 Emmanuel Korir and 1500m World lead Timothy Cheruiyot are among the ten nominees for the award.

The three were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF.

Kipchoge shocked the world when he smashed the world record in the Berlin Marathon crossing the finish line in 2:01.39 in September 16.

He had scrapped off a minute 18 seconds from the previous record of 2 hours 2 minutes 57 seconds set by his countryman Dennis Kimetto in 2014.

800m world’s fastest man since 2012 Emmanuel Korir [Courtesy]

The man who was born in the early 80s in Kapsisiywa, Nandi County ameliorated the world’s best marks for 35 kilometres and 40 kilometres stealthily stealing the title from Kimetto.

He made his mark clocking 1 hour 41 minutes 1 second at 35 kilometres mark and 1 hour 55 minutes 32 seconds at 40k.

The London Marathon champion who wears many caps has been said to be the greatest marathoner ever.

800m World lead Korir smashed the record that had been set by Olympic champion David Rudisha clocking 1:42.05 in IAAF Diamond League meeting in London.

1500m World lead Timothy Cheruiyot [Courtesy]

His magnificent and amazing performance in that capital put him sixth on the world's all-time list.

1500m and 1 mile world lead Timothy Cheruiyot has won nine out of eleven races this year.

The silver medalist at the Commonwealth Games and African Championships is also a Diamond League champion who boasts of a season's best of 3:28.41 in 1500m from Monaco.

Other nominees include; 60m World indoor record and world indoor champion Christian Coleman (USA), pole vault European champion with a world-leading height Armand Duplantis from Sweden, 200m World lead and unbeaten in his five races also from the USA Noah Lyles and World Indoor champion at heptathlon Kevin Mayer from France.

Diamond League and Commonwealth Games champion at long jump Luvo Manyonga from South Africa, 400m hurdles World lead Abderrahman Samba (Qatar) and New Zealander Tomas Walsh who holds the title of the World lead with the world’s longest shot put since 2003 will also hope for a win.

Fans can vote online via the IAAF's social media platforms while the IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes via email.

The IAAF Athletics Awards 2018 will be in Monaco in December 4.

By AFP 3 hrs ago
Real Madrid exact revenge on Man City to reach Champions League semis
By AFP 3 hrs ago
Bayern Munich knock Arsenal out of UEFA Champions League
It's the battle of the titans as Real Madrid face Man City again
Kane says he plays with 'point to prove' against Arsenal after being released when he was 9