First Lady to grace African Universities games at Kenyatta University

 President Uhuru Kenyatta and First Lady Margaret Kenyatta follow proceedings at the third edition of the World Athletics Continental Tour Gold series, Kip Keino Classic at the Moi International Sports Centre, Kasarani in Nairobi. [photo courtesy]

Kenya’s First Lady HE Margaret Kenyatta will officiate the opening ceremony of the 10th Federation of African Universities Games (FASU) next month on June 10th.

Over 45 universities across the continent have confirmed entries for the upcoming FASU games scheduled for next month in Nairobi.

The games will bring together close to 4,000 student-athletes and officials who will converge at Kenyatta University for the first games since the pandemic.

The games will take place from June 6th to 10th and will cover 17 disciplines including five demonstration sports.

Some of the disciplines include Athletics, Soccer, Badminton, Karate, Chess, Handball, Tennis and Volleyball. The soccer tournament will be used to qualify Africa’s representative teams for the FISU University World Cup Soccer 2023 for both men and women in Jinjiang – China.

The first lady accepted the invitation to open the games next month in line with her support for youth games.

In addition to the games, there will be a Vice-Chancellor symposium that will discuss the role of University games in development, in line with the game's theme: “The role of University Sports as a vehicle for institutional development.”

Confirmed participating African Universities from the list include The American University Cairo, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Lagos State University, Levy Mwanawasa Medical University-Zambia Lusaka, Makerere University, University Of Johannesburg, University Of Rwanda, University Of Kwazulu Natal, University Of Mauritius and the University Of The Western Cape.

Kenyan Universities include set to grace the championships including Jomo Kenyatta University Of Agriculture And Technology, Kisii University, Kabarak University, Kaimosi Friends University College Tiriki, Kibabii University and Kiriri Women's University Science And Technology.

Others are Meru University Of Science And Technology, Mount Kenya University, Strathmore University, Kaimosi Friends University College, Technical University Of Kenya and Technical University Of Mombasa.

Volleyball and Handball
Chumba back as KCB aim to reclaim continental title in Cairo
By AFP 6 hrs ago
Kenya's Munyao gets better of Bekele to win London Marathon
By AFP 12 hrs ago
Arsenal thrash Chelsea 5-0 to open up Premier League lead
By AFP 12 hrs ago
Inter Milan seal Scudetto in derby thriller with AC Milan