× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Basketball Athletics Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Opinion Motorsport Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

POLO: Action resumes today with Rift Valley Trophy

SPORTS By Ben Ahenda | October 24th 2020
Tarquin Gross of white Cap team and Jules Camm of Samurai play during the White Cap Kenya International Polo Championships finals where the white Cap team won 22nd September 2019. [photo/David Gichuru]

After six months without action, all is set for the Rift Valley Trophy Polo Championships at Manyatta Polo Club in Gilgil today.

This will be the first tournament this season after Kenya Polo Association postponed its calendar of events in March.

Four teams will battle for top honours in the two-day competition.

In the first match, handicap 4.5 Team C of Izzy Parsons (2.5), Kimoi Moi (2), Stutti Millar (1.5) and Magda Jurowlecks (-1.5) face fancied and handicap 5 Team D of Richard Stonewigg (÷), Gordy Millar (2), Cindy Voorspuy (0) and Kailia Millar(0).

The match which starts at 12pm will be officiated by Archie Voorspuy and Henry Limb.

The second match, which involves handicap 4.5 Team A against handicap 4 Team B to be officiated by Izzy Parsons and Stonewigg (Richard) will start at 1pm.

White Cap polo Team of Casimir Gross, Gareth Evans, Tarquin Gross and Ben Stonewigg Hold trophy with Kenya Breweries Sales Director Andrew Kilonzo(centre) after winning the White Cap Kenya International Polo Championships in September 2019. [Photo/David Gichuru]

Team A members are Archie Voorspuy (3.5), Geoff Morley(1), Philipa Gulden (0) and Natasha Tisminiesky (0) while Team B consists of Henry Limb (2.5), Raphael Nzomo (2.5), Louis Roumeguerre (0) and Fred Kambo (-1).

Kenya Polo Association chairman Gordon Millar said the tournament is only meant to prepare players for the season's remaining tournaments after the season was called off in March.

"It will be a low key tournament but we are determined to host it as a way of preparing players after a long lay-off. We hope it will shape the speed of players and horses," Millar said.

Share this story
Hockey star Oburu raring to swing his way to golf glory
Seth Oburu, who is arguably the greatest hockey midfielder in perhaps Strathmore University’s modern history meets...
Why Kenyan boxers are winning medals once again
The BFK led by President Anthony ‘Jamal’ Ombok was elected into the office in 2019 and has since...