× Sports Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Hockey Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge videos TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Digital News Opinions E-Paper Videos Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog Enterprise VAS E-Learning E-Paper The Standard Group Corporate RSS
Login ×

Bandari rule national championships

Last updated 9 months ago | By Ernest Ndunda

Khandwala Mohammed from Bandari Swim Club competes in the boys 200m Individual Medlay breaststroke category on the second day of the National Age group and Open Swimming gala at the Oshwal Academy pool, Saturday October 25, 2014. [PHOTO BY GIDEON MAUNDU/STANDARD].

Bandari swimmers proved their mettle after they won most of the races at the national swimming championships in Mombasa yesterday.

The Bandari club, who are coached by former national swimmer Fakry Mansoor, dominated individual and relays to inch closer to the title defence.

Bandari club’s Stephen Ndegwa, Rushab Shah, Shiven Bechra and Kunaal Khagram won boys’ 16 years and over 200m freestyle relays in a time of 1.46.17.

In the girls' 16 years and over 200m freestyle relays, Bandari went undefeated thanks to Catherine Mason, Riva Karia, Kimberly Nyawira and Saloni Patel who won in 2.03.71.

In individual races, Zikra Jaffer (Blue Ocean) timed 37.07 to win girls’ 10-11 years 50m backstroke while Tugi Mwige of Mombasa Aquatic won the girls’ 12-13 years 50m backstroke in a time of 36.02. Mombasa Aquatic’s Gakenia Mwige went ahead to win the girls’ 14-15 years 50m backstroke in 33.50. Bandari’s Catherine Mason clocked 34.65 to win the girls’ 16 years and over 50m backstroke.

In the boys’ 10-11 years 50m backstroke, Yannick Kamphuis from Seahorses Club timed 38.03 to win as Ivan Hart from Mombasa Aquatic clocked 32.21 to win boys’ 12-13 years 50m backstroke. Aryen Muravvej and Kunaal Khagram of Bandari clocked 31.07 and 29.45 minutes to win boys’ 14-15 and 16 years and over 50m backstroke respectively.

In girls 10-11 years 100m breaststroke, Bandari’s Duini Caffini won in 1.29.93 while Blue Ocean’s Maria Bianchi timed 1.23.86 to win the girls’ 12-13 years 100m breaststroke. Tory Pragassa of Seahorses clocked 1.06.44 to win boys’ 16 years and over 100m breaststroke.

In 200m individual medley (I&M), Jasmin Kimani from Otters club won in 2.42.21 with Siegfred Katumwa from Bandari winning the boys’ 16 years and over 200m individual medley.

Riva Karia of Bandari timed 30.28 to win girls’ 16 years and over 50m freestyle with Cian Omondi from Makini Schools Sports Academy winning the boys’ 16 years and over 50m freestyle.

Share this story