× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours Basketball Athletics Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Motorsport Sports Health Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Rivalry reloaded ahead of Jamhuri Motocross

SPORTS By -Oscar Pilipili | March 5th 2014 | 2 min read

By Oscar Pilipili

Sameer Anwar in action at Jamhuri Park. [PHOTO:FILE/STANDARD]

The second round of the National Motocross Championship gets underway at Jamhuri Park circuit this weekend with riders determined to up their ante in the nine-leg series.

Focus in the MX50 class will be the rivalry between Jet Takkunen and Tyler Huth.

Jet and Tyler shared a points score of 51 but the former emerged the round One winner by virtue of winning the last heat.

Kigen Kiplagat, currently leading MX65 class with 57 points, will be out to keep Maina Wanjigi and Tai Wahome at bay. Tai, who rode in MX50 last year, is still trying to familiarise with his new KTM65 bikes.

“Standards have been set and only the is the limit for the riders. We anticipate closely fought track battles on Saturday,” said the Motorcycle Commission Chairman  Maina Muturi.

The introduction of the Veterans and Masters class for the older generation of riders has added some zest into the motocross series.

Veterans’ leader Tim Jessop, who is a multiple Safari Rally and KNRC navigator champion, returns to motocross action after taking part in the Enduro season opener in Limuru a fortnight ago.

calling the shots

Jessop, who navigates Carl Tundo in the rally series, will be up against the likes of M Glen and  P Garner.

Defending MX65 champion Elias Sherman continues calling the shots in the class but can not afford to rest on his laurels with hard charging riders like Orobia Malungu and  Mohammed Anwar on board.

MX125 class should be dominated by  Samir Anwar who won all the three heats at stake. Samir will be up against  Ngugi Waweru and Githuku Mungai.

Rohan Ghandhi and Tutu Maina will be the men to watch in MX2 and MX1 respectively.

The official heats begin at 10.00am after practice.

Spectators will watch riders tackle tricky conditions with jumps and corners set to give spectators some superb  displays.

Signing on and scrutineering runs from 8am to 8:30 am. Riders Briefing is from 9:30 am to 09:45 am.

 Posting of results will begin from 16:30pm ahead of prize giving at 17:00pm.

[email protected]

Share this story
Sh2.2 million punch: Gicharu and Okwiri land lucrative World Boxing Series offer
Two Kenyan boxers will earn Sh2.2 million for every win after being included in the lucrative Aiba Pro-Boxing (APB) series.
What 2022 holds for title-hungry Kenyan athletes
It remains to be seen if stars Kipyegon, Kipchoge and Jepchirchir will continue with the good shows.