× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Basketball Athletics Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Opinion Motorsport Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Rugby: Kabras Sugar edge Mwamba to maintain Kenya Cup unbeaten run

RUGBY By Washington Onyango | August 14th 2021
Kabras Sugar's George Nyambua (center) in action against Mwamba in a Kenya Cup match played at RFUEA Grounds[Jonah Onyango]

Fijian utility back Jone Kuju bagged a hat-trick as Kabras Sugar stretched their unbeaten run in the Kenya Cup to eight matches after thrashing Mwamba 56-12 at the RFUEA Grounds yesterday.

Jeanson Musoga also got a hat-trick in the win that saw the millers score five tries each in both halves to keep tabs on leaders KCB.

The bankers beat Impala 40-6 at Impala Club to maintain their five point (44) lead over the millers who still have two games in hand.

Kabras started the match on the front foot after scoring three tries in the first 15 minutes with former Kenya Sevens star Felix Ayange opening the floodgates followed by Kubu and then Derrick Ashiundu for a 17-0 lead.

Winger Alfred Orege bagged the bonus point try before Musoga got his first try for 29-0 lead.

Brian Kivasia would drill a penalty for Mwamba to take the scores to 29-3 at the break. In the final half, Kivasia was at it again with another penalty for a 29-6 before Kubu and Musoga completed their hat tricks before Brian Tanga sealed the emphatic win.

Kabras RFC squad: 1.Ephraim Oduor 2. Geoffrey Shitambasi 3.Joseph Odero 4. Shem Angugo 5. Brian Juma 6. George Nyambua 7. Dan Sikuta (C) 8. Jeanson Musoga 9. Brian Tanga 10. Jone Kubu11. Alfred Orege 12. Johnstone Munga’u 13.Bryceson Adaka 14. Derrick Ashihundu 15. Felix Ayange

Replacements: 16 Eugene Sifuna 17. Asuman Mugerwa 18. Hillary Mwajilwa19. Hillary Odhiambo 20. Kevin Wekesa 21. Dan Angwech 22. Ntabeni Dukisa 23. Walter Okoth

Share this story
Mathare United relegation woes continue after losing to Bandari
Mathare United survival hopes suffered a huge setback on Saturday after losing 3-0 to Bandari in a Football Kenya Federation Premier League match at M
Opening Ceremony: Kenya takes her pride of place as 2020 Tokyo Paralympic Games begin
Team Kenya Paralympics strolled majestically into the Tokyo Olympic Stadium led by captain Rodgers Kiprop and Powerlifter Hellen Wawira for the Openin