All eyes on KCB as Christie Sevens kicks off

KCB are the champions of the 32 second edition of Kabeberi sevens at RFU Grounds on Sunday 22, 2022. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

Focus will be on KCB ahead of Christie Sevens, the second leg of the National Sevens Series set to kick off on Saturday at the RFUEA ground in Nairobi.

Defending Christie Sevens champions KCB, who are fresh from winning the Kabeberi Sevens leg last Sunday will duel with Topfry Nakuru, hosts Kenya Harlequin and Pirates in Group A.

KCB, who have retained the squad that won Kabeberi Sevens last weekend, launch their defence against debutantes Pirates from Mombasa at 9.20am before meeting hosts and 10-time champions Kenya Harlequin at 12.10pm.

The Bankers will then wrap up their group outing against 2000 champions Nakuru at 3. 40pm.

KCB edged out Strathmore Leos 12-10 to lift the Kabeberi Sevens title on Sunday at the RFUEA ground.

KCB and Nakuru met in the 2019 Christie Sevens final where the Bankers prevailed 12-7 in sudden death.

Strathmore Leos will play Daystar Falcons, Blak Blad and Impala in Group B as Homeboyz, the 2018 Christie Sevens winners face off with the 2014 champions Mwamba, Western Bulls and Catholic Monks, who won the Division II title at Kabeberi Sevens in Group D.

Kabras Sugar will renew their rivalry with Menengai Oilers in the ‘Rai Derby’ clash which will headline Group C which also consists of Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology (MMUST) and Nondescripts.

The Christie Sevens that started in 1964 is named in honour of Alex ‘Sandy’ Milne Christie, the former president of Kenya Harlequin, veteran rugby player and referee.

Saturday’s order of play

9.00am Nakuru v Kenya Harlequin

9.20am KCB v Pirates

9.40am Daystar Falcons v Blak Blad

10.00am Strathmore Leos v Impala

10.20am Masinde Muliro v Kabras Sugar

10.40am Menengai Oilers v Nondescripts

11.00am Mwamba v Western Bulls

11.20am Homeboyz v Catholic Monks

 11.50am Nakuru v Pirates

12.10pm KCB v Kenya Harlequin

12.30pm Daystar Falcons v Impala

12.50pm Strathmore Leos v Blak Blad

1.10pm Masinde Muliro v Nondescripts

1.30pm Menengai Oilers v Kabras Sugar

1.50pm Mwamba v Catholic Monks

2.10pm Homeboyz v Western Bulls

 3.20pm Kenya Harlequin v Pirates

3.40pm KCB v Nakuru

4.00pm Blak Blad v Impala

420pm Strathmore Leos v Daystar Falcons

440pm Kabras Sugar v Nondescripts

500pm Menengai Oilers v Masinde Muliro

520pm Western Bulls v Catholic Monks

540pm Homeboyz v Mwamba


By Ben Ahenda 6 days ago
Kenya Lionesses squad for World Rugby Challenge Series named
Kenya Sevens shifts focus to World Series and World Cup
Commonwealth Games: Pure torment as sloppy Shujaa drop ball when it matters most
Rugby: Poor Shujaa out of Commonwealth Games