KCB'S Geoffrey Okwach (left) and Habil Malika of Kabras during Kabeberi sevens at RFU Grounds on Saturday 21, 2022. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

National Sevens Circuit defending champions KCB are the 2022 Kabeberi Sevens kings.

KCB were crowned champions after defeating Strathmore Leos 12-0 in the final played yesterday at RFEUA grounds.

Bob Muhati scored the opening try for the bankers, which was converted by Levi Amunga for an early 7-0 lead before Shujaa star Jacob Ojee stretched KCB’s lead to 12-0 heading into the halftime break.

In the final half, Leos launched their comeback with Joseph Ayiro narrowing the scores to 12-5 with an unconverted try. A late unconverted try narrowed the score to 12-10 but the bankers held on to win.

KCB finished the tournament unbeaten after winning all their six-matches they played in the tournament.

They finished top of Group A on Saturday after victories against MMUST (38-7), Kabras Sugar (22-5) and Western Bulls (33-14).

In the quarterfinals, KCB knocked out Kabeberi defending champions and hosts Mwamba 14-5 before seeing off Menengai Oilers 17-12 in the semifinals to book a date against Leos in the final.

Oilers won bronze after defeating Homeboyz 19-12. Homeboyz were knocked out of the semis after a 15-10 defeat to Leos.

Hosts Mwamba finished fifth after edging out MMUST 24-5 in the fifth place semifinals as Homeboyz won the Challenge trophy after beating Blak Blad 7-0.

Meanwhile, Catholic monks will play in the upcoming Christie Sevens top division after winning the Kabeberi Sevens Division II title. Monks saw off Makueni 12-7 in the finals.

Elsewhere, Nakuru were crowned champions of the Kabeberi Sevens women’s edition after defeating Mwamba 17-15 in the final. [

Odera wary of Uganda as 15s team prepares for World Cup qualifiers
Rugby: Fijian Kubu, Injera headline Simba's squad to World Cup qualifiers
How Taabu lifted Mwamba to Driftwood rugby Sevens glory
Rugby: Mwamba win 2022 Driftwood Sevens in Mombasa