Juma upbeat as Kabras look to end pain in Kenya Cup ‘Rai Derby’ final against Oilers

Brian 'Tonya' Juma of Kabras Sugar (center) bullies his way through Kenya Harlequin's Edward Shitanda. [Washington Onyango,Standard]

Kabras Sugar and Kenya Simbas lock Brian Juma believes patience and determination will be key in determining the champion when sugar men host Menengai Oilers in the Kenya Cup finals dubbed the ‘Rai Derby’ at the Bull Ring from 3pm East African Time on Saturday.

Speaking to the Standard Sports, Juma, who has been at Kabras since its formation in 2014, believes 2022 is Kabras Sugar’s year of redemption after painful defeats in 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2021.

“Losing four finals in a row has always been the hardest, deepest feeling personally and for the whole team and club. However, we always rise through it. We draw our strength in that and we never give up.”

“Due to the hard work we've put in place plus all the sacrifices the club has made, both on and off the pitch, from the players, staffs and the investments, I believe we deserve to win this year even before the eyes of God.”

“We've been to finals many times in a row and I believe with composure and focus, we will emerge winners if we do what we do best,” said Juma.

Kabras edged out Strathmore Leos 29-9 to reach seventh successive Kenya Cup final.

The only time Kabras won was when they met Impala in the 2015-2016 final, winning 22-5 in Nairobi. They met KCB in the rest of the finals but failed to defeat the bankers.

Meanwhile, Jerome Muller has made seven changes to the Kabras Sugar side that will face Oilers in the finals.

Captain Dan Sikuta returns to lead Kabras, relegating Collins Indeche to the bench as Teddy Akala gets to start from his familiar position, number 2.

Akala will be joined by Joseph Odero and Asuman Mugerwa as Ephraim Oduor and Hillary Mwanjilwa drop to the bench.

Hillary Odhiambo is also benched with George Nyambua coming in to join Brian Juma in the second row.

Kevin Wekesa and Jeanson Musoga will continue in the back row as Barry Robinson and Ntabeni Dukisa have been tasked with scrum-half and fly-half roles.

Walter Okoth and Bryceson Adaka will also replace Malik Habil and Valerian Tendwa in the midfield as Alfred Orege and Derrick Ashihundu man the wings.

Kabras Squad:

1. Joseph Odero 2. Teddy Akala 3. Asuman Mugerwa 4. George Nyambua 5. Brian Juma 6. Kevin Wekesa, 7. Dan Sikuta (C) 8. Jeanson Musoga, 9. Barry Robinson 10. Ntabeni Dukisa 11. Alfred Orege, 12. Walter Okoth 13. Bryceson Adaka 14. Derrick Ashihundu 15. Jone Kubu

Replacements: 16. Eugene Sifuna 17. Hillary Mwanjilwa 18. Ephraim Odour 19. Hillary Odhiambo 20. David Bunduki 21. Collins Indeche 22. Brian Tanga 23. Felix Ayange 24. Valerian Tendwa 25. Edwin Oyoo


Rugby: Impala Floodlit to return next month after two years
Odera names training squad for final Rugby World Cup qualification
Shujaa finish 12th at Rugby World Cup
Koyonzo crowned new rugby sevens champions as Stafford lift 3x3 title