× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours Basketball Athletics Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Motorsport Sports Health Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Rugby: Kenya Sevens kick off Malaga 7s with Canada from 1pm

RUGBY By Washington Onyango | January 21st 2022 | 2 min read
Shujaa's Jeff Oluoch (left) in action against Canada during Dubai Sevens.[Courtesy-World Rugby]

Kenya Sevens will kick off the third leg of the World Sevens Series with a match against Canada from 1.22pm East African Time at the Malaga Sevens on Friday.

Following a thrilling double header at the Emirates Dubai Sevens late last year, attention now turns to Spain.

Shujaa are in Group D alongside Canada, France, Wales.

After their opening match against the North Americans, Kenya will then return to action at 6:06 PM to play Wales in the second match in Group D.

The final match of the group stages will on be Saturday at 1:49 PM against France. 

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the New Zealand men’s and women’s teams are unable to travel to Spain for the Malaga and Seville events and will be replaced by Germany and Belgium, respectively. 

Pool A will feature Tokyo 2020 Olympic gold medallists, Fiji, Dubai champions South Africa, England and Scotland. 

Pool B includes Germany, Australia, Ireland and Japan while hosts Spain will take on USA, Samoa and Tokyo 2020 Olympic bronze medallists Argentina in Pool C. 

Day two of the tournament will commence at 09:00 local time with the last of the women’s pool matches.

The third and final day will kick off at 09:30 and will feature the Cup finals for both the men’s and women’s tournaments to determine the winners of the inaugural HSBC Spain Sevens in Malaga. 

Men's Group

Pool A: England, Fiji, South Africa, Scotland 

 Pool B: Australia, Germany, Ireland, Japan 

 Pool C: USA, Spain, Jamaica, Argentina 

 Pool D: Kenya, Canada, France, Wales 


Share this story
Okwiri eyes more continental fights ahead of the world title fight
Before he attains the age of 40, former Africa Boxing Union middleweight champion Rayton Okwiri is determined to win a world title.
Shujaa fall to Canada in Malaga 7s opener
Kenya Sevens kicked off the 2022 Malaga 7s leg on the wrong foot after losing 19-17 to Canada in the Group D opening match played on Friday at the Est