× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours Basketball Athletics Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Motorsport Sports Health Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Kabras Sugar thrash Nakuru to maintain Kenya Cup top spot

RUGBY By Washington Onyango | December 4th 2021 | 2 min read

Kabras Sugar's Eugene Sifuna (right) tackled by Gabriel Adero of Strathmore Leos during the Kenya Cup semis in Nandi. [Washington Onyango, Standard]

Last season’s runners up Kabras Sugar maintained their perfect start to the 2021-2022 Kenya Cup season after seeing off Top Fry Nakuru 31-3 in a match played at the Nakuru Athletic Club on Saturday.

The sugar millers ran in five tries to pick a bonus win in Nakuru that sees them remain top on 10 points.

Kabras started the match on the front foot after taking an early 7-0 lead through South African fly-half Ntabeni Dukisa who crossed over and converted his own try.

Scrum-half Dan Angwech stretched the lead to 12-0 with Dukisa failing to convert as the Kakamega based outfit went to the break with a slender lead.

In the final half, Keith Embaga crossed over with Dukisa adding the extras for a 19-0 lead before Nakuru scored a penalty for 19-3 score line.

The visitors sealed the win after forwards Teddy Akala and Hillary Mwanjiwa landed the fourth and fifth try for the sugar men.


Kabras RFC 1. Hilary Mwajilwa 2. Teddy Akala 3. Asuman Mugerwa 4. Geoffrey Messo 5. Shem Angugo 6. Jeanson Musoga 7. Thomas Simiyu 8. John Baraka 9. Dan Angwech 10. Ntabeni Dukisa11. Alfred Orege 12. Walter Okoth 13. Vuyo Mbotho 14. Paul Abuto 15. Felix Ayange

Nakuru RFC 1. John Mbugua 2. Emmanuel Mboya 3. Newton Okeyo 4. Dan Githanga 5. Gideon Mbithi 6. Maurice Achola 7. Felix Okoth 8. Rodgers Audi 9. Samuel Mwaura 10. Fredrick Odongo 11. Cassius Omollo12. Teddy Agutu 13. Gramwel Bunyasi 14. Hannington Wabwire 15. Leon Nyang

Share this story
Harrison rallies Gor fans ahead of Caf tie
Gor Mahia lost 1-0 to AS Otoho d’Oyo in Congo last Sunday and have to score two goals without reply to be sure of reaching the group stages.
What 2022 holds for title-hungry Kenyan athletes
It remains to be seen if stars Kipyegon, Kipchoge and Jepchirchir will continue with the good shows.