× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Basketball Athletics Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Opinion Motorsport Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Rugby: Kabras Sugar thump Top Fry Nakuru to maintain winning run

RUGBY By Washington Onyango | July 17th 2021
Kabras Sugar RFC utility back Jone Kubu celebrates after scoring. (Washington Onyango, Standard)

Kabras Sugar stretched their unbeaten run to five matches after thrashing Top Fry Nakuru 40-15 in an entertaining match played at Moi Showground in Nakuru on Saturday.

Returning Kenya Simbas trio George Nyambua, Brian Tanga and Jone Kubu inspired Kabras to their fifth win of the campaign.

Tanga opened the scores with Ntabeni Dukisa converting for a 7-0 lead in the opening minutes of the match before Nyambua and Dukisa combined again to stretch the scores to 14-0.

Fijian Dukisa would get the millers third try but sent the conversion wide before Kenya Simbas new star Kubu crossed over and converted his own try to hand Kabras a comfortable 26-0 at the break.

Kabras Sugar RFC captain Dan Sikuta in action against Nakuru. (Washington Onyango, Standard)

In the final half, Tanga claimed his brace to extend the lead to 33-0. Walter Okoth would be sent to the sin bin moments later, an opportunity Nakuru utilized to score 10 points.

Amos Obaeh crossed over for Nakuru’s first try of the game. Nakuru would convert a penalty moment later to reduce the scores to 33-10.

The millers responded through Brian Juma who sealed the win with Kubu converting for a commanding 40-15 win.

Nakuru RFC: 1.Newton Okeyo 2.Emmanuel Mboya 3.Ezekiel Waitere 4.Thomas Okeyo 5.Phillip Kwame 6.Amos Obae 7.Felix Okoth 8.Edwins Makori 9.Donald Oluoch 10.Crispin Onyango 11.Cassius Omollo 12.Brian Kimani 13. John Okoth 14. Hannington Wabwire 15. Samuel Mwaura

Replacements: 16. Julius Agesa 17. John Mbugua 18. Felix Oleche 19. Gideon Mbithi 20. Edwin Anunda 21. Fredrick Odongo 22. Billy Kipchirchir 23. Tyson Asiago

Kabras RFC 1.Joseph Odero 2.Eugene Sifuna 3.Hillary Mwanjilwa 4.Hillary Odhiambo 5.Brian Juma 6.George Nyambua 7.Kevin Wekesa 8.Jeanson Misoga 9.Brian Tanga 10.Ntabeni Dukisa 11.Alfred Orege 12.Walter Okoth 13.Bryceson Agesa 14.Jone Kube 15.Felix Ayange

Replacements: 16.Shitambasi Geoffrey 17.Victor Were 18.Lee Akanga 19.Collins Indeche 20.John Baraka 21.Dan Angwech 22.William Opaka 23.Johnstone Mungau24. Dan Sikuta 25. Bede Enonda

Share this story
France striker Giroud thanks Chelsea fans, joins AC Milan
France international striker Olivier Giroud thanked Chelsea's fans, players and coaches for "special moments" as his switch away from the Premier Leag
Opening Ceremony: Kenya takes her pride of place as 2020 Tokyo Paralympic Games begin
Team Kenya Paralympics strolled majestically into the Tokyo Olympic Stadium led by captain Rodgers Kiprop and Powerlifter Hellen Wawira for the Openin