Nairobi decides: The winners and the losers

ODM's Babu Owino retains Embakasi East. [File, Standard]

 Babu Owino, Felix Odiwour 'Jalang'o', Mark Mureithi, Tom Kajwang, Ronald Karauri and John Kiarie have clinched MP seats for their various constituencies.

Babu retained the Embakasi East Parliamentary seat race on an ODM ticket after garnering 57,410 votes against UDA's Francis Wambugu Mureithi who garnered 29,104 votes.

 Jalang'o beat incumbent Generali Nixon Korir by more than 2000 votes to claim Lang'ata Constituency Parliamentary seat.

The radio presenter garnered 38, 948 votes against Korir's 36,836.

Eric Odiwour 'Jalang'o' is the new MP for Lang'ata. [Achive, Standard]

After receiving his certificate at the Multimedia University constituency tallying centre, Jalang'o expressed his gratitude to the electorate saying he will be a representative for all.

He said the vote signified the trust in him and Azimio la Umoja One Kenya Alliance presidential flag bearer Raila Odinga.

In Embakasi West, Mark Mureithi of Jubilee garnered 46, 552 votes to win the seat. George Theuri of UDA managed 32, 933 votes to emerge second.

In Ruaraka Constituency, praise and jubilation rent the air as IEBC declared Tom Joseph (TJ) Kajwang the winner.

Ronald Karauri is the new MP for Kasarani Constituency. [Achive, Standard]

Kajwang retained his seat, which he has held since 2017, after garnering 50,260 votes on an Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) ticket.

Security personnel could not contain the wild crowd, which only cooled down once Kajwang intervened.

Former Sportpesa Chief Executive Officer Ronald Karauri is the new MP for Kasarani Constituency.

Karauri clinched the seat after securing 32,406 votes.

Karauri, who vied as an independent defeated the incumbent MP Mercy Gakuya of Jubilee Party who was third with 24,790 votes.

It was a tight race as he defeated the United Democratic Alliance's (UDA)John Njoroge with a margin of 1,962 votes. Njoroge garnered 30,444 votes to clinch the second position.

In Kibera Constituency, Peter Orero of Orange Democratic Party was declared the winner.

Mc Donald Mariga has lost his bid for the Kibra seat. [Achive, Standard]

Orero garnered 33, 008 votes against his close rival Mc Donald Mariga.

Mariga who was running on a United Democrat Alliance Party garnered 20,049 votes.

The current Member of Parliament Bernard Okoth came third with 18,901 votes running as an independent.

Dagoretti South MP John Kiarie also retained his seat on a United Democratic Alliance (UDA) ticket.

Kiarie garnered 26,394 votes trouncing his main challenger Dennis Waweru who managed 22,773 votes.

There was tension at PC Kinyanjui Technical Training Institute where Waweru attempted twice to stop the tallying exercise claiming the process was fraudulent.

The former MP claimed that there was tempering of ballot papers to deny him victory.

He alleged that apart from his agents being thrown out of the tallying centre the previous night, there was stuffing of extra ballots in favour of Kiarie whom he accused of sponsoring violence since voting day.

John Kiarie retained Dagoretti South. [Achive, Standard]

"They have also stolen three ballot boxes which are still missing yet the IEBC officials are tallying votes without giving an explanation about the missing ballot boxes," said Waweru.

At one point, Waweru engaged police officers in a scuffle after his agents were denied access to the tallying centre where security was tight throughout the day.

Despite calling for the suspension of the tallying for an audit to be conducted over the alleged fraud, returning officer Roselyne Kasane released the results a few minutes before 5pm.



In Embakasi East, Babu clinched the seat for the second time.

Michael Okumu Ogada came distance third with 3,063 votes in the contest and attracted five candidates from different patties.

Embakasi East has 154,599 registered voters but the turnout for August 9 polls was only 60 per cent.

According to IEBC statistics, 90,403 participated in the exercise.

"I thank God for another opportunity to serve Embakasi East, I will serve all equally and tell those who lost to join us in working for the people," Babu said.

"This was just like any other contest that produced a worthy winner, from now onwards, I and other elected leaders will embark on development issues," added Babu

-Pkemoi Ng'enoh, Makau Muthoni and Hudson Gumbihi, Jacinta Mutura, Renee Were, Kamau Muthoni and Mike Kihaki


45-year-old Mayweather Jr. easily wins by knockout in Japan exhibition
Unique Sports
PHOTOS: Concours d'Elegance showstoppers and winners
Hockey: Strathmore University cement top spot after win over Lakers in Kisumu
By Ochieng Oyugi 12 hours ago
Injera takes to the golf course after a tough World Cup outing