× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours Basketball Athletics Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Motorsport Sports Health Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Aakif Virani named motorsport personality of the year

MOTORSPORT By Ochieng Oyugi | January 17th 2022 | 1 min read
Aakif Virani co-driven by Azhar Bhatti in a Skoda Fabia during the 2021 ARC Equator Rally in Naivasha on April 24-27, 2021. [Equator Rally]

Division One Champion Aakif Virani is the 2021 Motorsport Personality of the year.

The Skoda Fabia-R5 driver achieved the feat during a colourful ceremony at the WRC Safari Rally secretariat in Kasarani, on Saturday night.

Virani beat his closest challenger Carl “Flash” Tundo, the winner of last year’s Kenya National Rally Championships (KNRC) and the African Rally Championships competitions.

“It’s such a great feeling today (Saturday) to be recognised for my hard work. It hasn’t sunk in yet. I hope to up my game in 2022 and perform even better,” said Virani.

The Nairobi-based businessman was voted for the coveted award by the Kenya Motor Sport Federation (KMSF) competitors licence holders and commissions.

Linet Ayuko was finally voted the KNRC navigator of the year after a series of top 10 finishes in previous years.

Ayuko, who navigated Maxine Wahome in Division Two and Hussein Malik in Division One, racked up unassailable points in the Division Two navigators championships but failed to meet the 75% threshold to be eligible for a title.

The gala night also awarded the 2021 champions in various motorsport disciplines as well as meritorious achievements. Division One driver McRae Kimathi was awarded the FIA ARC Junior Championship for Drivers.

Share this story
Kingo’ri’s squad wins Johnnie Walker Series
Sam King’ori’s team defied all odds to emerge the overall winners in the sixth leg of the ongoing “Road to Gleneagles” Johnnie Walker Golf Series at t
Standard Group fuels 2022 Classic Rally with Sh21m, ready for action
Standard Group PLC is now the official media partner of the East African Safari Classic Rally (EASCR) slated for February 10-18.