× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours Basketball Athletics Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Motorsport Sports Health Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Verjee eager to sign off autocross season in style

By Ochieng Oyugi | November 28th 2021 | 3 min read

Zameer Verjee is optimistic of ending the KCB Kenya National Autocross Championship season on a high. [Courtesy]

Newly crowned 2WD non-turbo buggy class champion Zameer Verjee is optimistic of ending the KCB Kenya National Autocross Championship season on a high at Jamhuri racetrack today.

However, he is set to meet tough opposition from Ankush Manoj Shah and Gurraj Singh.

Verjee successfully defended his title at last month’s round 8 event in Nanyuki, bossing the track in his 2WD non-turbo rage buggy.

The Karen-based driver savoured an unassailable 160-point lead from the outing in Nanyuki with second-placed Shah finishing at 159 points in the high-altitude Batian View thriller.

“I am really itching to rev again with minimal pressure on a new race circuit. 

“As much as my weekend participation is a formality, the essence is to finish the event in a credible position and indeed end the season on a high,” Verjee said.

With a maximum of 22 points up for grabs in the coming round 9, it’ will not be business as usual for class frontrunners in the Kenya Motor Sports Club organised leg.

Shah and Singh are set to battle for the runners up position.

The 2WD non-turbo car class will be anyone’s championship considering the fact that only nine points separate Sam Karangata from leader Rajveer Thetty.

The ninth round will definitely decide who lifts the coveted title. Karangata will be driving a Subaru while Thethy returns to the course behind the wheel of a Daewoo Cielo.

In the 2WD Turbo Class, which is a preserve for buggies, Lovejoyt Singh aka LJ already has the title in the bag.

He will nevertheless fight it out with second-placed Prabjeet Sagoo, who is two points ahead of Shaz Esmai and 13 on longtime leader Azaad Manji who returned from a three-month injury layoff in Gilgil.

In the 2WD Turbo Class, which is a preserve for buggies, Lovejoyt Singh aka LJ already has the title in the bag. [Courtesy]

LJ also has the 4WD Turbo Class title in the bag. He will be up against immediate former champion Sahib Omar and KNRC Premier Class driver Eric Bengi.

In Open Class, Hamza Anwar is the champion and his participation today will be a mere formality up against second-placed Asad Khan “Kalulu” and Maxine Wahome.

Hamza, son of Asad Anwar, is one of the three FIA Rally Star Drivers.

Bambino Class is also sure to treat spectators to some exhilarating displays this weekend.

Karamveer Singh Rooprai is assured of the runners up position and will fight it out with champion Yuvraj Rajput.

Junior 2WD Non-Turbo is anyone’s championship.

Four points separate second-placed Neel Gohil from class leader Brandon Ng’ang’a.

In Pee Wee Class, newcomer Eann Bengi doesn’t qualify to win a championship as he cannot attain the 75 per cent threshold for participation as stipulated in the National Competition Rules (NCRs), and such, girl rider Kiana Rajput just needs to participate in today’s event to chalk up her first ever championship.

Kiana will be moving up to Bambino Class taking up her brother’s championship-winning Magi-Bug 500cc machine.

Yuvraj is moving up to Junior Class after today’s race meeting.

Although no one knows what’s up the sleeves of the drivers, this will be known when the dust finally settles at the expansive Jamhuri racetrack.

Drivers will start with a practice heat in the morning, to warm their engines well in time for the four official heats at which the “best of three” rule will count in the final classification.

Share this story
Beyond pressing: What Ralf Rangnick brings to Manchester United
Ralf Rangnick, set to become Manchester United's interim manager, heads to Old Trafford with a reputation for 'pressing football'.
What 2022 holds for title-hungry Kenyan athletes
It remains to be seen if stars Kipyegon, Kipchoge and Jepchirchir will continue with the good shows.