× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours Basketball Athletics Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Motorsport Sports Health Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Gikunda over the moon after Railway victory, Mruttu lifts AAK tourney

GOLF By Sammy Mose and Maarufu Mohamed | April 4th 2022 | 2 min read
Outgoing Chairman Stanley Karanja in action during Chairman Prize 2022 at Kenya Railway Golf Club, April 2, 2022. [Mose Sammy, Standard]

On a differential score of 31 points, Joyce Gikunda emerged the overall winner of the Railway Chairman’s (Stanley Karanja) prize tournament staged in Nairobi over the weekend.

Gikunda had a good outing on the course during the two-day event.

Playing off handicap 19, Gikunda had played level par on Friday returning 72 nett with an equally good showing on Saturday where she carded 35 stableford points for the winning differential score.

The tournament which was sponsored by Johnnie Walker, AAR Healthcare, Kenya Railways Corporation, NCBA, Madison Group, Netpaq and Kenya Railway Golf Club members attracted a field of 360 golfers.

Losing out to Gikunda on countback on a similar score was handicap 19 Dickson Kaburi who posted 72 nett and 36 stableford points on Saturday for a differential score of 31 to claim the men’s winner prize.

“This is my third Chairman’s Putter win and I’m elated for achieving this feat,” said Gikunda.

Lady winner prize was clinched by Shelmith Muraguri on a differential score of 70-29=41 as former Lady captain Eunice Kilonzo came in second with 73-23=50 differential points .

Chairman Stanley Karanja, who has completed his term as Railways boss, is credited for improving the welfare of the club’s members as well renovating the facilities.

At Naivasha Sports Club, Samson Gitau carded a round of 38 stableford points to win the club’s Chairman’s Prize Tournament presented by Konza Technopolis. Gitau floored a field of 84 golfers.

Elsewhere, Otoo Mruttu carded a sterling 46 stableford points to emerge the overall winner of the 2022 Architectural Association of Kenya (AAK) golf tournament at Karen Golf Country Course on Saturday.


Share this story
Patel gives himself a pat on the back after Equator Rally win
Kenya National Rally Championships leader Karan Patel is the winner of the second leg of the 2022 African Rally Championships (ARC) series.
Arsenal top-four hopes suffer blow with 3-0 defeat at Palace
Arsenal's hopes of securing a top-four Premier League finish this season were dealt a blow as they suffered a 3-0 defeat at Crystal Palace on Monday.