× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Basketball Athletics Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Opinion Motorsport Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Harambee Stars held by Rwanda in World Cup Qualifiers

FOOTBALL By Washington Onyango | September 5th 2021
Rwanda's Lague Byiringiro dribbles past Kenya defender Daniel Sakari during a 2022 World Cup Qualifiers match at Kigali Stadium on September 5 2021. [Courtesy]

Harambee Stars were held to a 1-1 draw by Rwanda in the Group "E" 2022 World Cup qualifier match played at Nyamirambo Stadium in Kigali on Sunday.

Stars captain Michael Olunga opened the scores in the opening 10 minutes before the hosts equalized through Abdul Rwatubyaye in the 20th minute as the second half witnessed no goals.

The draw leaves Kenya second in Group E with two points after two matches played.

Mali top the standings with three points as Uganda and Rwanda remain third and fourth with a point each.

Mali meanwhile will play hosts Uganda Cranes on Monday.

Stars played out a barren draw against Uganda Cranes at the Nyayo National Stadium on Thursday in their first contest of the group.

Harambee Stars coach Jacob ‘Ghost’ Mulee made one change to the squad that faced Uganda.

Mulee handed Eric Johana a start in place of Bandari’s winger Abdallah Hassan who came on from the bench.

Kenya will now play Mali next,

Harambee Stars Starting XI

1. Ian Otieno (GK), 2. Joseph Okumu, 5. Eugene Asike, 15.Daniel Sakari, 3. Eric Ouma, 6.Richard Odada, 21. Lawrence Juma, 16. Juma Masud, 13. Kenneth Muguna, 10.Eric Johanna, 14. Michael Olunga


23. James Saruni (GK), 18. Joseph Okoth (GK), 17. Duke Abuya, 8. Patillah Omoto, 19. Harun Shakava, 7. Boniface Muchiri, 20. Erick Kapaito, 4. Frank Odhiambo, 9.Henry Meja, 11.Siraj Mohammed, 12.Bolten Omwenga, 22. Hassan Abdallah, 11. Jackson Macharia

Share this story
Champions Tusker sign Leopards and Bandari midfielders
Local football champions Tusker FC have continued to beef up their squad ahead of the new season by roping in two more midfielders from rival team in
Cheruiyot floors London Marathon pacesetter Ng'eno
Elijah Cheruiyot shocked London Marathon pacesetter Ben Ng’eno to win the Eldama Ravine Half Marathon as Sharon Chelimo bagged the women’s title in Ba