× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Basketball Athletics Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Opinion Motorsport Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Kenyan Safari legends set to spice up 2020 Tanzanian Guru Nanak Rally

FOOTBALL By Ernest Ndunda | October 30th 2020
Jassi chatte flies his Mitsubishi Evo 10 over a bridge during the Safari Rally. Jassi will head there field during the guru Nanak rally. [Standard SPorts]

Three Kenyan rally drivers will be dancing in the dust and mud as they carry the country’s flag at the Tanzanian Guru Nanak rally championships.

Kenya’s Safari Rally legends Carl "Flash" Tundo and Ian Duncan will be in action at the event scheduled for November 7-8 in Manduli, Arusha. The rally has also attracted another Kenyan raising star Karan Patel.

Karan is currently one of the fastest drivers on the Kenya National Rally Championship (KNRC) front having already captivated local fans on the KCB Nyahururu Rally in March this year before Covid-19 pandemic halted rallying activities.

Carl 'Flash' Tundo, rally driver. [Standard Sports]

Duncan will be navigated by Tej Sehmi while Karan is reuniting with Tausef Khan.

Riyaz Ismail, who is currently lying 2nd on the Tanzanian rally log, will be rallying for Gurjit Dhani of Hari Singh Team in a Skoda Proto.

Veteran Kenyan navigator Ravi Chana will be navigating for Manvir Birdi of Tanzania.

Duncan, who won the 1994 WRC Safari Rally with Dave Williamson, is incidentally the most successful driver on the Kenyan version of Guru Nanak Rally having laid his hands on the coveted title more than 10 times.

Tundo, who has five Safari Rally titles under his belt, will be navigated by his longstanding co-driver Tim Jessop [Ernest Ndunda]



1 Gurpal Singh- 45 points

2 Gurjit Singh- 38 points

3 Ajminder Dhani- 30 points

3 Ahmed Huwel-30 points

5 Kelvin Taylor-28 points


1 Dave Sihoka-points

2 Riyaz Ismail-38 points

3 Manmeet Birdi-30 points

3 Rahim Suleiman-30 points

5 Karim Munisi-points

Share this story
Hockey star Oburu raring to swing his way to golf glory
Seth Oburu, who is arguably the greatest hockey midfielder in perhaps Strathmore University’s modern history meets...
Why Kenyan boxers are winning medals once again
The BFK led by President Anthony ‘Jamal’ Ombok was elected into the office in 2019 and has since...