× Sports Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Hockey Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge videos TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Digital News Opinions E-Paper Videos Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog Enterprise VAS E-Learning E-Paper The Standard Group Corporate RSS
Login ×

World Cup Qualifier draw results are out! Harambee Stars drawn in Group E with Uganda, Mali and Rwanda

Last updated 8 months ago | By Odero Charles

Harambee Stars’ Victor Wanyama (left) and Manuel Kambala of Mozambique during international friendly match at Kasarani Stadium on Sunday, Oct 13, 2019. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

Kenya's national football team, Harambee Stars will take on Mali, Uganda and Rwanda in the second round of qualifying for the 2022 World Cup after Tuesday's draw.

In Group A, Algeria meet Burkina Faso, Niger and Djibouti while Tunisia will Zambia, Mauritania and Equatorial Guinea in Group B.

Nigeria and Cape Verde clash in Group C along with Central African Republic and Liberia, while Cameroon and Ivory Coast meet in Group D alongside Mozambique and Malawi.

Egypt have been drawn in Group F of the Fifa World Cup 2022 along with Gabon, Libya and Angola.

Ghana have been handed group G as they will face South Africa, Zimbabwe and Ethiopia

Forty teams will compete in 10 groups after the draw in Cairo.

Winners from the first round join 26 top-seeded sides based on FIFA's world rankings.

The matches will take place from March 2020 until October 2021.

Group winners will advance to the third round which will be played in November 2021.

The five winners of the final round will secure berths in the 2022 World Cup.

African 2022 World Cup qualifying, second-round, draw:

Group A

Algeria, Burkina Faso, Niger, Djibouti

Group B

Tunisia, Zambia, Mauritania, Equatorial Guinea

Group C

Nigeria, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Liberia

Group D

Cameroon, Ivory Coast, Mozambique, Malawi

Group E

Mali, Uganda, Kenya, Rwanda

Group F

Egypt, Gabon, Libya, Angola

Group G

Ghana, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Ethiopia

Group H

Senegal, Congo Brazzaville, Namibia, Togo

Group I

Morocco, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Sudan

Group J

DR Congo, Benin, Madagascar, Tanzania


Share this story