× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Basketball Athletics Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Opinion Motorsport Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Otto Benecker beat Kujibamba to retain title

FOOTBALL By Rebecca Jebet | January 3rd 2017

Otto Benecker stunned Kujibamba 4-1 to comfortably win the second edition of Kenya Women's Football Tournament at Camp Toyoyo Grounds on Sunday evening.

Elizabeth Ambogo opened the scores for Otto in the tenth minute but Purity Nyongesa restored parity four minutes later for Kujibamba.

Otto who are also the defending champions intensified attacks that led to a penalty and Winnie Kanyotu slotted home a second for her side to regain the lead in the 25th minute.

Both sides had their chances in the evenly distributed first half but it was the champions who went to the breather with a 2-1 lead advantage.

On resumption,Otto seemed a better side as Christine Nafula found the back of the net with ten minute played.

Purity Nyongesa was on the score sheet again but this time round she scored in her own net in the hour mark a result that gave the champions one more reason to celebrate by the of the last whistle.

To the finals,Otto edged out PCA 11-10 on post-match penalties following a barren draw in normal time while Kujibamba defeated Kayole Starlets 2-1 in another semifinal.

Otto's Christine Nafula took home the top scorer award after scoring 11goals while Corazone Aquino emerged the golden ball winner.

PCA's goalkeeper Judith Osimbo took home the golden glove award following her exemplary performance in the entire tournament.

Share this story
English premier league top scorers
Top scorers of the English premier league on Monday 14 Diego Costa (Chelsea) 13 Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Manchester United) 12 Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal) 11 Romelu Lukaku (Everton) Sergio Aguero (Manchester City) Jermain Defoe (Sunderland)
Why Kenyan boxers are winning medals once again
The BFK led by President Anthony ‘Jamal’ Ombok was elected into the office in 2019 and has since...