× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Basketball Athletics Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Opinion Motorsport Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Elisha Kiprop and Valentine Kipketer win men's and women's 2021 Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon 42km race respectively

ATHLETICS By Standard Sports | October 31st 2021
Elisha Kiprop wins 18th edition of the Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon held on Sunday. October 31th 2021 [Boniface Okendo,Standard]

Elisha Kiprop and Valentine Kipketer are the winners of the 18th edition of the Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon held today.

Valentine Kipketer outsmarted Naomi Chepkogei Maiyo, in the women’s 42km to win the race in 2 hours, 30 minutes and 02 seconds.

Naomi settled for the second slot in 2:32:23 with Lilian Chemweno coming third in 2:34:14.

Commenting on her 42Km win, Valentine said, ‘’This was my first time participating in the Standard Chartered Marathon and I am very pleased with my performance. I have been training for a better part of the year with a couple of teammates and I was confident that I was well trained and prepped for the race. I look forward to participating in other races including international ones.’’

In the men’s 42km event, Elisha Kiprop took command of the race to emerge victorious, with Alphonce Kigen coming second. Joshua Kogo finished third.

Speaking on his 42km win, Elisha Kiprop expressed his joy saying: I am very pleased to have participated in this year’s marathon. I commenced training in June and it’s good to see the results of my hard work. I look forward to continuous growth in my athletic journey with hopes to participate in international marathons as well.’’

Winners in both categories each walked away with Sh2 million.

In the men's 21km half marathon race, Vincent Ng'etich won the race after crossing the finish line in a time of 1:01:44  with Rhonzas Kilimo coming second in a time of 1:00:59. Peter Kipsirat finished third in a time of 1:00:59.

Peris Engambi won the women’s 21km event in a time of 1:12:59 with Abigael Jelimo finishing second in a time of 1:13:41. Lilian Jebii came third after clocking 1:14:32.

42km women winner Valentine Kipketer crosses the finish line [Boniface Okendo, Standard]

The women's wheelchair event was won by Caroline Wanjira who finished in a time of 2:11:58.

Wanjira was followed home by Rahel Akoth Alar (2:23:05) and Eunice Atieno (2:39:10) during the 2021 Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon.

The marathon made a comeback this year after it was cancelled in 2020 due to unprecedented challenges brought about by COVID-19 and the containment measures required. Sh 11.5m prize money has been allocated to go to the top athletes in different race categories.

All proceeds will be channeled towards the Future makers initiative which is Standard Chartered’s community initiative that supports women and youth through education, employability and entrepreneurship.  

21km marathon winner Vincent Ngetich awarded dummy cheque by Standard Group PLC Chief Talent officer Nicholas Siwatom (left) and blind long-distance runner Henry Wanyoike [Courtesy]
21km marathon winner Vincent Ngetich, Rhonzas Kilimo and Peter Kipsirat along with other Standard Chartered officials pause for a photo [Courtesy]
Share this story
Barcelona held by Alaves in first game since Koeman sacking
Barcelona's miserable LaLiga campaign continued as they were held to a 1-1 home draw by lowly Alaves on Saturday in their first match since the sackin
Cheruiyot floors London Marathon pacesetter Ng'eno
Elijah Cheruiyot shocked London Marathon pacesetter Ben Ng’eno to win the Eldama Ravine Half Marathon as Sharon Chelimo bagged the women’s title in Ba