× Sports Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Hockey Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge videos TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Digital News Opinions E-Paper Videos Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog Enterprise VAS E-Learning E-Paper The Standard Group Corporate RSS
Login ×

Kipkorir, Jebichi triumph at Standard Chartered Marathon

Last updated 10 months ago | By Dennis Okeyo

Brimin Kipkorir celebrates winning the 42.2 km Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon 2019 at Nyayo national stadium on October 27, 2019.  Photo/Stafford Ondego

Brimin Kipkorir and Purity Jebichi are the winners of the 17th edition Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon held on Sunday at Nyayo Stadium.

Kipkorir from Elgeyo Marakwet and the 2017 event winner outsmarted Steven Kipchirchir, his main challenger in the men’s 42km to win the race in 2 hours, 10 minutes and 42 seconds.

Purity Jebichii reacts after winning the 21.1 km Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon 2019 at Nyayo national stadium on October 27, 2019. Jebichii won the race with a time of 2:30.34. Photo/Stafford Ondego

The Kaptagat-based Kipchirchir settled for the second slot in 2:11:53 as Victor Serem closed the podium in 2:12.00.

"I was in good form coming into the race and also confident of recapturing the title. The weather conditions were great. After this victory, I will take two to three weeks recovery before embarking on training for another race probably in abroad,” said Korir.

In the women’s 42km event, Jebichi, the 2015 Standard Chartered Marathon half marathon winner stepped up to the full marathon event in style.

Jebichi took command of the race just after covering 21km of the race to emerge victorious in 2:30:33, beating Chemtai Rionotukei to second place in 2:33:03 as Shelmith Muriuki settler for the third position in 2:34:39.

“I’m just returning from maternity break and to come here to win the main marathon is a great achievement for me. I’m proud of my performance because I wasn’t sure of victory but I was confident of finishing within podium bracket. At 28km, I could feel that I was in good shape to win the race,” said Jebichi.

Both Jebichi and Kipkorir walked home with Sh2 million prize money from increased Sh1.5 million.

Sheila Chepkirui on way to winning the 21.1 km Half Marathon women Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon 2019 at Nyayo national stadium on October 27, 2019. Sheila won the race with a time of 1:11.51. Photo/Stafford Ondego

Andrew Kwemoi and Sheila Chepkirui of Kenya Defence Forces were the winners of half marathon event.

Kwemoi, 20, who finished third at the Bank Half Marathon brush off his opponents to win in one hour, one minute and 51 seconds.

Kiprono Koech edged out Edmond Kipng'etich to secure the second slot in 1:02:01 as Kipng’etich clocked 1:02:06 in third.

Former African 5000m Champion Chepkirui won the women’s half marathon race in her marathon debut just a few weeks after winning Durban 10km in South Africa.

Participants take part in the 21.1 km Half Marathon men Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon 2019 at Nyayo national stadium on October 27, 2019. Photo/Stafford Ondego Standard Marathon

Chepkirui clocked 1:11:51 to win the race ahead of Deborah Serum (1:12:10). Cynthia Kosgei was third in 1:13:45.

"I enjoyed the race and it felt good this being my first half Marathon race, I think I will be winning races as I continue gaining experience on the roads,” said Chepkirui.

In 10km, Daniel Simiu won the race in 28 minutes and 22 seconds while Nancy Jelegat won the corresponding women race in 32minutes and 03 seconds.

Selected results

Men’s 42km

Brimin Kipkorir 2:10:42

Stephen Kipchirir 2:11:53

Victor Serem 2:12:00

Daniel Kiplimo 2:12:27

Fredrick Marabula 2:12:40

Women’s 42km

Purity Jebichi 2:30:34

Chemutai Rionotukei 2:33:03

Shelmith Muriuki 2:34:39.

Zeddt Limo 2:38:03

Georgina Rono 2:42:16

Men’s 21km

Andrew Kwemoi 1:01:62

Kiprono Koech 1:02:02

Edward Kipng’etich 1:02:07

Women’s 21km

Sheila Chepkirui 1:11:51

Deborah Serum 1:12:10

Cynthia Kosgei 1:1345

Men’s 10km

Daniel Simiu 28.22

Peter Muiruri 28:56

Edwin Bett 29:06


Nancy Jelegat 32:03

Relin Meringor 32:06

Beatrice Chepkemoi 32:49


Share this story