× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours Basketball Athletics Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Motorsport Sports Health Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Brigid, Chepkoech shortlisted for IAAF awards

ATHLETICS By Stephen Rutto and IAAF | October 16th 2019 | 2 min read
Brigid Kosgei of Kenya races to the finish line during the 2019 Bank of America Chicago Marathon on October 13, 2019 in Chicago, Illinois. Quinn Harris/Getty Images/AFP

Just two days after setting a new world record in Chicago, Brigid Kosgei was shortlisted for IAAF Female Athlete of the Year award.

Kosgei, world 3000m steeplechase record holder Beatrice Chepkoech and world 5,000m champion Hellen Obiri are among 11 athletes nominated for the prestigious award.

On Sunday, she ran a jaw dropping 2:14.04 to break British Paula Radcliffe’s previous record of 2:15:25.

And Radcliffe, who set the world record at the 2003 London Marathon, was in the American city to watch the race.

Brigid ran a world leading time of 65:28 for the half marathon and 1:04:28 on a downhill course at the 2019 Great North Run.

Her coach Eric Kimaiyo said he will convince Brigid to attempt to become the first woman to run marathon under 2:10 and inspire young girls.

 “One day, I want her to run in a challenge. She has the potential and I am sure she will inspire a generation,” Kimaiyo said.

 IAAF announced that the voting process for the 2019 World Athletes of the Year starts this week ahead of the World Athletics Awards 2019 which takes place in Monte Carlo, Monaco, on November 23.

“The IAAF is pleased to confirm a list of 11 nominees for Female World Athlete of the Year who were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF,” the federation reported.

Ssteeplechase world record holder Beatrice Chepkoech during her training session at Moi International Sports Centre, Kasarani on July 25 ahead of their Africa Senior Athletics Championships in Asaba, Nigeria. [Dennis Okeyo, Standard]

Beatrice Chepkoech’s successful season also earned her a slot in the list of nominees.

Chepkoech won world 3000m steeplechase at the recently concluded world championships in Doha, Qatar, in a championship record of 8:57.84 after winning IAAF Diamond League Trophy.

According to IAAF, the World Championships in Doha was the highest quality competition in the history of the event.

Hellen Obiri booked also booked her place in the list of nominees after a glorious season, having won the world 5000m title in the world championships in a championship record of 14:26.72. In March, she won the world cross country championships title in Aarhus, Denmark.

In one of the premier showdowns in July, Obiri fired away from Dutch’s Sifan Hassan, also nominated for the award, with just over 200 metres to go to take the 5000m in 14:20.36, a meeting record at the London Diamond League.

Share this story
Bandari beat Coastal Union as they end Tanzania tour
Bandari concluded their tour of Tanzania with a 1-0 win over Tanzanian Premier League side Coastal Union in Tanga ahead of their trip to Guinea for th
What 2022 holds for title-hungry Kenyan athletes
It remains to be seen if stars Kipyegon, Kipchoge and Jepchirchir will continue with the good shows.