× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours Basketball Athletics Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Motorsport Sports Health Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Chepkoech inches closer to IAAF Female Athlete of the Year award

ATHLETICS By Joan Letting and IAAF | November 20th 2018 | 2 min read
Police's Beatrice Chepkoech strides in 3000 Steeple Chase women finalist during Athletics Kenya National Trials held at Kasarani stadium on June 23, 2018. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

World steeplechase record holder Beatrice Chepkoech is among five finalists who will battle for this year's IAAF Female Athlete of the Year award.

Chepkoech is the only African who will be eyeing the award.

“I am so grateful to everyone who voted for me and helped me get to the top five. I am so happy and I hope I will win this,” she told The Standard Sports.

In July, Chepkoech, who competes for Kenya Police Service, smashed the world record crossing the finish line in 8:44.32.

She shaved more than eight seconds off the previous record of 8:52.78 that had been set by Ruth Jebet of Bahrain in the IAAF Diamond League meeting in Paris, in 2016.

The 27-year-old made history as the first Kenyan woman to hold the 3,000m steeplechase world record.

Chepkoech also ran off to win seven out of eight steeplechase finals including the Continental Cup, African Championships and Diamond League this year.

On May 31, she finished fifth in Roma Golden Gala - Pietro Mennea in Italy in 9:15.85 but her star was yet to shine.

In the 1,500m race, she came top in the second heat but was forced to settle for silver in the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games in Australia.

The four others, who will hope to take home the trophy include; 200m and 4x100m relay sprinter Dina Asher-Smith from Great Britain, World lead and unbeaten in eight finals at triple jump Caterine Ibarguen (Colombia), 200m Commonwealth Games and Diamond League champion Shaunae Miller-Uibo (Bahrain) and World lead and unbeaten at heptathlon, Nafissatou Thiam (Belgium).

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced in Monaco on December 4.

The male finalists will be announced today.

World marathon record holder Eliud Kipchoge, 800m world’s fastest man since 2012 Emmanuel Korir and 1,500m World lead Timothy Cheruiyot are among the 10 nominees for the award and who hope to make the cut.

Share this story
Unbeaten Selecta are Division One champs
Unbeaten Selecta are Division One champs
What 2022 holds for title-hungry Kenyan athletes
It remains to be seen if stars Kipyegon, Kipchoge and Jepchirchir will continue with the good shows.