Schools: Stage set for Nakuru County games

By Ben Ahenda: Tuesday, January 14th 2020 at 10:02 GMT +3 | Sports

A total of 25 schools have confirmed participation in the inaugural Nakuru Open County Schools Championships set for this weekend at Nakuru High School.

The schools, which are drawn in and outside Nakuru County include national volleyball champions St Joseph’s Kirandich, Moi Kabartonjo, Anestar School, Kunyak,  Coulson Boys, Elburgon DEB, Menengai High, Nakuru Day and Moi High School-Kabarak.

Others are Bahati Boys, Koelel, JM Kariuki, Njoro Boys, Baringo High, Kabimoi, Moi  Secondary, Uhuru Kabiyet, Mema Secondary, Nakuru Boys, Nakuru Girls, Kelelwet and Tumaini, among others.

The tournament is meant to prepare them for the forthcoming Inter-zonal schools championships, which kicks-off the annual schools calendar of events.

Tournament coordinator Duncan Macharia said they’ll compete in the indoor and outdoor disciplines with the ballgames taking the centre stage among perennial rivals in different disciplines.

Get the latest sports news updates. Subscribe to our SMS sports service by texting 'SPORTS' to 22840.

“We have come up with the event to assist these institutions get adequate preparations for the Inter Schools Championships that kick-off in the next fortnight,” Macharia told Standard Sports.

For More of This and Other Sports Stories Subscribe to the Standard Epaper