Four players axed as Harambee Stars coach Sébastien Migné names final AFCON squad

By Waweru Titus: Tuesday, June 11th 2019 at 09:32 GMT +3 | Football
Harambee Stars coach Sebastian Migne instructs Victor Mugabe Wanyama during their AFCON 2019 qualifier match at Kasarani stadium in Nairobi, Kenya on October 14, 2018. Kenya won 3-0. [Courtesy]

Harambee Stars coach Sébastien Migné has named the final team set to participate in the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Cairo, Egypt later this month.

Four players have been axed from the initial 27-man squad among them Sweden-based winger Christopher Mbamba, Anthony Akumu, Clifton Miheso and Brian "Niang" Mandela.

Musa Mohamed, who picked up a knock in Kenya’s first pre-AFCON friendly match against Madagascar on Friday, has been included in the list, as has Abud Omar, who limped off late in the match.

Kenya still have one friendly match against the Democratic Republic of Congo set to be played on Saturday, June 15, 2019, in Madrid, Spain.

The four-week long event (AFCON) in Egypt will run from June 21st- July 19.

Final AFCON Squad:

Get the latest sports news updates. Subscribe to our SMS sports service by texting 'SPORTS' to 22840.


Patrick Matasi, John Oyemba, Faruk Shikalo


Philemon Otieno, Abud Omar, Bernard Ochieng, Musa Mohammed, Joash Onyango, Joseph Okumu, David Owino, Eric Ouma


Victor Wanyama, Dennis Odhiambo, Erick Johanna, Ayub Timbe, Francis Kahata, Ismael Gonzalez, Ovella Ochieng, Paul Were, Johanna Omollo


Masud Juma, Michael Olunga, John Avire

For More of This and Other Sports Stories Subscribe to the Standard Epaper