Kenya Kwanza settles on final five nominees for EALA

From left; Former Mombasa senator Hassan Omar, former nominated senator Falhada Dekow and former nominated MP David ole Sankok. [Elvis Ogina,Standard]

The Kenya Kwanza coalition has settled on Hassan Omar (former Mombasa senator), Zipporah Kering (former Nandi Woman Representative), David ole Sankok (former nominated MP), Fred Muteti (Former URP Secretary General), and Falhada Dekow (former nominated senator) as the final nominees for the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

This follows a Parliamentary Group meeting chaired by President William Ruto at Nairobi's State House on Wednesday, November 16.

Other leaders who had expressed interest in the positions are; Joel Nyambane, Geoffrey Karobia, Anne Too, Lilian Tomitom, Yasser Bajaber, Jonas Kuko, Abdikadir Aden, and Rebecca Lowoiya.

Last week, the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party also revealed the names of six nominees to EALA including Winnie Odinga- daughter to ODM Party leader Raila Odinga, Mombasa businessman Suleiman Shahbal, former Kitutu Masaba MP and the party's National Treasurer Timothy Bosire, Former Turkana Water and Irrigation CEC Beatrice Askul, former Shinyalu MP Justus Kizito and Mohammed Diriye (Wajir).

On its part, the Jubilee Party has nominated former MPs Kanini Kega (Kieni), Jeremiah Kioni (Ndaragwa), and Ruth Mwaniki (Kigumo) to battle it out for the EALA slot.

The Kenya Kwanza coalition will take five of the available positions, while Azimio la Umoja will take four.

Elections will take place tomorrow [Thursday, November 17] at the Senate and National Assembly Chambers at 9.30 am and 10 am respectively at Parliament Buildings where the nominees will either be confirmed or rejected.