Winners, losers in Nairobi and Eastern contests

From left, George Theuri, Nelson Havi, and Nixon Korir. They conceded defeat. [File, Standard]

Two United Democratic Alliance (UDA) incumbent MPs have conceded defeat after failing to recapture their seats.

Langata Constituency’s Nixon Korir and Embakasi West’s George Theuri broke the announcements on social media.

“To the people of Langata, I sincerely thank you for according me an opportunity to be your MP for the last five years. It’s been a great opportunity that gave me an avenue to contribute to our nation building and service to the people,” posted Korir on his Facebook page.

He added: “From the results that we’ve tallied at the Generali centre, my competitor Jalango has a lead and I want to congratulate him as he prepares to take the mantle and move Langata forward. Siasa si chuki. God bless Langata.”

Korir lost to media personality Felix Odiwuor, alias Jalang’o ODM.

Theuri, a close ally of Deputy President William Ruto and who lost to Mark Mwenje of Jubilee party, said on his Facebook page:

“I want to take this early opportunity to sincerely thank the entire Embakasi West Constituency for giving me an opportunity to serve you for the past 10 years. As we begin a new chapter allow me to wish my worthy competitor and the new incoming Embakasi West MP Mark Mureithi Mwenje. Best of luck as you embark to start a new era as MP elect.”

By the time of going to press, other Azimio-backed MPs were leading, including Westland’s MP Timothy Wanyonyi against his UDA rival and lawyer Nelson Havi with 59,300 votes against 20,230 votes.

Havi went on social media to concede defeat early, thanking Wanyonyi for the early lead.

“Well done Team Havi. We are the minority in the contest for Westlands. The majority chose Timothy Wanyonyi. They duly deserve him in their wisdom or lack of it. On our part, we are contented with the outcome. Congratulations to you my elder brother, Tim Wanyonyi. Serve well,” posted Havi on Twitter.

Retain seat

Dagoreti South’s John Kiarie of UDA was leading Jubilee’s Dennis Waweru. Dagoreti North’s Beatrice Elachi (ODM) was also leading.

In Embakasi South, Wiper Democratic Movement’s Julius Mawathe was leading and was heading to retain his seat against, same as Mathare’s incumbent Anthony Oluoch of ODM against Jubilee’s Kevin Bahati.

For Kasarani, Independent candidate Ronald Karauri was leading UDA’s John Njoroge with 10,099 votes from over 50 polling centres out 240 against 8, 818 and Jubilee’s incumbent Mercy Gakuya coming third at 7,317 votes by the time of going to press.

Makadara’s George Aladwa was also leading against UDA’s Anthony Waithaka, same as Embakasi East’s Babu Owino against UDA’s Francis Mureithi.

In Kamukunji, Jubilee’s Yusuf Hassan was leading against UDA’s Robow Hassan.

In Eastern, three sitting lawmakers from Machakos County have lost their seats.

The county’s longest-serving legislator, Machakos Town MP Victor Munyaka (UDA) who has served since 2007 lost his seat after a fierce battle with Kiima Kimwe Ward MCA, Caleb Mule, who vied on a Maendeleo Chap Chap party ticket.

By the time of going to press, provisional results indicated Dr Munyaka had 16,000 votes way behind Mule’s 39,000 votes. Munyaka conceded defeat through a post on his Facebook page.

Yatta MP, Charles Kilonzo, who was vying for the Senate seat also lost after being defeated by the incumbent senator, Agnes Kavindu of Wiper party. His current seat will now be inherited by Wiper’s Robert Basil who, according to provisional results has defeated his opponents in the parliamentary race.

In Masinga constituency, the incumbent, Joshua Mwalyo who was elected on a Wiper party ticket lost his seat to the party’s new favourite, David Mutuku. Mwalyo was defending his seat as an independent candidate.

In Kangundo, former MP Katatha Maweu’s attempt to dethrone the incumbent, Fabian Muli were thwarted after he lost the election for the second time to the youthful politician.

By the time of going to the press, provisional results indicated the former MP (Wiper) had garnered 10,300 votes against Muli’s 15,300. Muli was defending his seat on a GDDP party.