× Digital News Videos Kenya @ 50 Health & Science Lifestyle Opinion Education Columnists Ureport Arts & Culture Moi Cabinets Fact Check The Standard Insider Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS
Login ×

David Kimaiyo names Zipporah Gatiria as the new police spokesperson

By By CYRUS OMBATI | July 4th 2013 at 00:00:00 GMT +0300


Nairobi, Kenya: A new police spokesperson has been named in changes that saw immediate spokesman Charles Owino Wahongo deployed to the operations department as Staffing Officer at the police headquarters.

Ms Zipporah Gatiria Mboroki, who until her appointment was a staffing officer at the training department, is the new police spokesperson in changes announced by the office of the Inspector General.

The new Gigiri OCPD is Vitalis Otieno, who replaces former OCPD Philip Mwakio, who was named the Elgeyo Marakwet County Commander.

The new driving school chief is Michael Chelimo, who was in charge of driving school at the Kenya Police Training College in Kiganjo.

Read More

The Inspector General of Police David Kimaiyo also appointed and transferred about 20 senior officers.
The new Athi River OCPD is Beatrice Kiraguri, who will replace Charles Kirinya who has been transferred to the directorate of operations at the police headquarters while Isaiah Odhiambo of the same directorate swaps places with Wajir East OCPD James Mutungi.

Other new OCPDs include Aphiod Nyaga (Kericho), Fredick Lai (Kakamega Central), Francis Ngulu (Busia), Clement Wangai (Police headquarters), Justin Nyaga (Kilifi), Julius Kyumbule (deputy OCPD Central, Nairobi), Perminus Muchangi (Kitui Central), Caleb Wesa (Habaswein), John Otibine (Loiyangalani) Zacheus Ngeno (Kilindini) and Joseph Mutende (Suba).

Others are Edward Wafula (Kirinyaga North), John Otieno Onditi (Mt. Elgon), Francis Warui (Nandi South), Nzole Jefa Mwero (Mathioya), Merengo Kibwabwa (Dikirr), Japheth Ngatwa (Marsabit North), Edward Changach (Rachuonyo South) and Wilmot Mwanyalo (Keiyo South).

The move to name a new spokesman ends a long tussle between the National Police Service Commission (NPSC) and Kimaiyo who had opposed a move to name Mr Anthony Munga of the Kenya Police College to the office in February.

The commission had said it recognised the role of the office of the spokesman in fighting crime in this country and created the office of the Director of Communication naming Munga as the boss but Kimaiyo said he had not been consulted.

Ms Mboroki was among officers who had late last year been short listed for the position of the Deputy Inspector General in charge of the Kenya Police Service.

David Kimaiyo Inspector General of Police police spokesman Charles Owino
Share this story

More stories

Take a Break