Standard Group reporters scoop top awards

By Wainaina Wambu | Sunday, Aug 5th 2018 at 12:43
Share this story:


KTN News reporters Hussein Mohammed and Sharon Momanyi win the Journalist of the Year award.

The Standard Group journalists shone at the Annual Journalism Excellence Awards (AJEA) on Friday night, scooping eight of the trophies, including the most coveted Journalist of the Year Award.

KTN News reporters Hussein Mohammed and Sharon Momanyi won the Environmental Reporting Award and Journalist of the Year Award for their story Coaled Case. Their winning story offered a critical look at the controversial 1,050 megawatts coal power plant being constructed in Lamu County.

In the print category, The Sunday Standard reporter Vincent Achuka and Jonathan Komen jointly won the Sports Reporter of the Year Award for their investigative series on the doping menace in athletics.

Business reporter Patrick Alushula, who has since left The Standard, won in the business reporting category print. Alushula’s story, which was published in the Financial Standard pullout, was about why Kenyans love for quick riches was killing normal investments.

KTN news reporter Agnes Penda and cameraman Johnson Langat won the Development Reporting Award. Penda also won the ICT Reporting Award.

Radio Maisha Editor Wellingtone Nyongesa won the Good Governance Reporting Award.

Overall, the Standard Group had 13 of its journalists making it as finalists in the awards.

KTN reporters Duncan Khaemba and Francis Mtalaki plus news anchor Ali Manzu made it as finalists.  From print, investigative reporters Paul Wafula and Moses Michira also made it as finalists.

Cartoonist of the Year went to Eric Ngammau "GAMMZ" who was also a Runners-UP in the Journalist of the Year Award. 

Speaking at the event Speaker of the National Assembly Justin Muturi emphasised the importance of the media and vowed to defend media freedom.

Share this story:

Latest News

Latest Entertainment

Trending Now