The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Kenyan companies among Africa's top tech innovators

Vincent Nzai, Head of Change, Absa Bank, Kenya, Moses Okundi, Chief Technology Officer (CIO), Absa Bank Kenya [CIO of The Year 2022] and George Njuguna, CIO Safaricom pose for a photo during the CIO100 Awards & Symposium last year.

Some of Kenya's leading companies have made it to the final list of a prestigious continental award that recognises the best use of technology to deliver business value.

The award, organised by a leading African technology driver, dx5, received over 600 applications from across the continent for this year's CIO100 Awards.

The shortlisted Kenyan companies include the Kenya Tea Development Agency (KTDA), Sarova Hotels & Resorts, and Absa Bank Kenya, which represent a diverse range of sectors, such as agriculture, hospitality, and banking.

They will compete with other top companies from different African countries in various categories.

"We are delighted to showcase the best of African technology and innovation through this award. Technology is the ultimate winner here, and it's inspiring to witness our continent's technological evolution," said Harry Hare, the Chairman and Co-Founder of dx5.

The CIO100 Awards, which has been dubbed as The Oscars of Tech in Africa, will honour the leaders of tech in different categories, with the most coveted prize being CIO of the Year for the individual who has led the most compelling project that not only successfully incorporated technology but also merged business strategy with the organisation's vision.

Last year's winner, Moses Okundi of Absa Bank Kenya, has been nominated for the second year in a row and will face stiff competition from 10 other outstanding nominees, including James Nyakomitta of APA Insurance, Martin Mwarangu of KTDA, and Debra Ngina of Sarova Hotels & Resorts.

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner at a beach resort in Diani on November 24, 2023.Other award categories are the Education Sector Award, Health Sector Award, Manufacturing Sector Award, SACCO Sector Award, Insurance Sector Award, and Banking Sector Award.

Noteworthy accolades to watch out for are the dxNova Woman of the Year Award, Company of the Year Award and the CXO Influencer of the Year Award.

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner at the Diamonds Leisure Beach and Golf Resort in Diani on November 24, 2023.

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week