The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Marubi clinches Mulembe golf tournament title


Mulembe Alpha tournament overall winner Mildred Marubi in action on the par-five 18th hole at Muthaiga Golf Club on Friday. [Mose Sammy, Standard]

Long-hitting Mildred Marubi produced a score of 38 stableford points to win the Mulembe Golf Society Alpha tournament played at Muthaiga Golf Club on Friday.

Marubi, playing off handicap 24, inked a sterling score to clinch the title after flooring 208 golfers who participated in the meet.

"To all the sponsors, thank you for your sponsorship that has made this tournament a great success," Marubi said in her speech.

Taking after Marubi was Elijah Mbole, playing off handicap 13, who carded 37 stableford points to bag the Mulembe Men winner prize followed by Geoffrey Wafula after bringing back a similar score of 37 stableford points.

Handicap 24, Joyce Wafula returned a score of 30 stableford points to emerge as the Lady winner. Audrey Khaleji won the Lady winner second prize with a score of 27 stableford points.

Royal Nairobi Golf Club's Kevin Juma inked 74 gross points to lift the Gross winner prize.

Leading the Sponsors was Rahab Thuo from NCBA with a score of 36 stableford points.

The Men Guest winner prize went to H Coomans, playing off handicap 6 with a superb score of 39 stableford points, edging out Sylvester Onyango on countback with a similar score of 39 stableford points.

Handicap 22, Eleanor Khayo claimed the Lady Guest winner prize with a score of 38 stableford points. Sophie Mbochi came in second with 33 stableford points.

Another Royal Nairobi Golf Club golfer, Paul Ichangi, won the Longest Drive Men winner, while Sophie Mbochi won the Longest Drive Lady prize winner.

The Nearest to Pin Men winner was Roy Sasaka. Sophie Mbochi made her third trip to the podium as Nearest to the Pin Lady winner.

A total of eleven pros, David Wakhu (72), Dismaz Indiza (72), George Felix (74), Robinson OJustus Madoya (75), Kevin Mabele (75), Frank Matilo (76), JW Karanja (76), Edwin Mudanyi (77), David Saikwa (79) and Kopan Timbe (82) shared the Sh100,000 prize money.

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week