The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Multi-agency team to probe Kenyan officials linked to graft

 Director of Public Prosecutions Keriako Tobiko’s team alongside EACC officers to probe Government officials facing graft allegations.

The Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commision CEO Halakhe Waqo and and Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Keriako Tobiko have formed a joint team to probe officials mentioned in connection with graft.

There has been public concern over the duration it would take to exhaustively probe all the cases, after President Uhuru Kenyatta directed officials who appeared in EACC graft report to step down for investigations to be carried out.

The team was formed following deliberations on how to progress on the cases which are either complete or at an advanced stage of investigations.

"A multi-agency team has been constituted in order to satisfy the public interest, standards and expectations," read the joint statement signed by Waqo and Tobiko.

Waqo and Tobiko also requested the Director of Criminal Investigations Ndegwa Muhoro to forward detectives to join in the probe.

“The Director of Criminal Investigations Mr Muhoro Ndegwa has been requested to donate a team from the directorate to bolster the process,” read the statement.

Cabinet Secretaries Charity Ngilu (Lands), Davis Chirchir (Energy), Kazungu Kambi (Labour), Felix Koskei (Agriculture) and Michael Kamau (Transport) have already been suspended following the announcement.

Governors have however dismissed the directive, claiming that the President did not have powers to order elected officials to step aside.

Led by Council of Governors Chair Isaac Ruto, the governors said they will continue to discharge their duties as per the Constitution.

Governors mentioned in the report which will be tabled in both the National Assembly and Senate Tuesday include; Isaac Ruto- Bomet Peter Munya- Meru, Evans Kidero- Nairobi ,Cyprian Awiti- Homa Bay, Okoth Obado- Migori, Godana Doyo-Isiolo, Ukur Yattani- Marsabit, Nathif Jamah- Garissa, Alfred Mutua- Machakos, Amason Kingi- Kilifi and Josphat Nanok – Turkana.

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week