Teresia walks away with medal as Kabera tops learned friends’ event in Muthaiga

SPORTS-GOLF-TERESIA ODOO; Nyali's Lady Captain Teresia Odoo follows her shot.She was the Division one winner on 70 nett of the October 2016 Monthly Medal sponsored by Jonnie Walker played at the Nyali course in Mombasa County on Saturday,015th October,2016.PHOTO BY MAARUFU MOHAMED/STANDARD

Nyali golf club Lady captain Teresia Odoo made good use of the par 71 home course to win the October 2016 Johnnie Walker Medal tournament.

Playing off handicap 15 Odoo brought home 70 nett to beat a team of 70 ladies and claim the trophy in the division one category.

In both nines the Lady captain was able to roll nine level pars to give her the lead despite playing 01 bogey shots and a mixed pot of bogey shots on the rest of the holes.

“I know the course very well, though sometime it’s challenging but today I was able to manage my putting and swings,” said Odoo said on Saturday.

Club Mate Pia Swatton playing off handicap 23 was the Division two winner on 79 nett.

The Club’s green keeper Mathew Githinji playing off handicap 5 beat his men colleagues by posting 73 nett to claim the Mug that was also sponsored by Johnnie walker.

Handicap 12 Mohamed Hussein Khaku also from the same club was the runners up on 74 nett and Mombasa’s handicap 12 was third placed on 75 nett.

At Muthaiga course the Pan African Lawyers’ Union (The BAR) event was won by home club’s handicap 14 Edmund Kabera after posting a count back score of 39 points (20-19).

Kabera had tied on same points with Men winner, handicap 19 Simon Njuguna.

Njuguna was a point ahead of Club mate handicap 20 Paul Richu who was the men runners up.

Susan Kanyora playing off handicap 11 and also from the same club was the lady winner while Kenya Airforce’s handicap 14 R.Kibet who scored 34 points (16-18) was the Guest winner. The Junior prize went to the club’s handicap 5 Kagwe Kibugu who posted 37 points (17-20).

The 2016 UAP old Mutual tournament played at the Vet Lab course on Saturday was won by handicap 25 Peter Njuguna on 41pts while Karan Raikundalia playing off handicap 17 posted 40 points to win the Men title.

Purity Muthini playing off handicap 14 was the Lady winner on 38 points, while the Guest prize was claimed by handicap 36 Carolene Kiongo on 40 points.

The Gross winner was handicap 2 Ebill Omollo posting 70 gross while handicap 27 Titus Njonjo on 36 points was the Senior winner and the Junior title was won by handicap 16 Steve Oringa who had a score of 41points.