The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

MKU's Gicharu among officials listed to head State corporations

 Dr Simon Gicharu, founder and chairman of Mount Kenya University. [File, Standard]

President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed key officials to State Corporations before the next regime takes over.

Dr Simon Gicharu, founder and chairman of Mount Kenya University, and Bobby Aditya Kamani, Managing Director of Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, have recently landed government appointments.

Gicharu, who previously chaired the Rural Electrification and Renewable Energy Corporation (Rerec) for seven years, has been appointed to the Water Services Regulatory Board for a three-year term.

His appointment was announced in the Kenya Gazette on August 5, 2022. Kamani, for his part, has been appointed by Tourism and Wildlife Cabinet Secretary Najib Balala to serve as a board member at the Kenya Tourism Board (KTB) for a three-year term beginning August 5.

Other appointments include Gen (rtd) Joseph Raymond Kibwana, who has been reinstated as chairman of the Kenya Ports Authority (KPA), and Mr Linus Gitahi, a former media executive appointed as board chair of Rivatex East Africa.

Fatma Naaman Muses has been appointed chairperson of the Kenyatta International Convention Centre (KICC), Charles Mugo Ciuri as chairperson of the Kenya Urban Roads Authority, and Winfrida Ngumi as chairperson of the Kenya National Highways Authority.

Meanwhile, Omar Mohammed has been appointed for a two-year term as chairperson of the Kenya National Library Services Board.

Christine Anyango Agimba, on the other hand, was appointed chairperson of the Kenya Law Reform Commission for six years, and retired Major General Lucas Kyonze Tumbo was appointed chairperson of the Advisory Committee on Military Veterans for four years.

Others include Dennis Awori (Member of the State Corporations Advisory Committee), Donald Apollo Kokonya (Non-executive chairperson of the Board of Directors of the Kenya Board of Mental Health) and John Waithaka (Non-executive chairperson of the Kenya Forestry Research Institute).

Nabila Khanbhai has been named as Non-Executive Chairperson of the Kenya Tissue and Transplant Authority, while Robert Mwangi Kariuki becomes chairperson of the Kenya Water Towers Agency Board.

Noor Musa has been appointed chairperson of the board of directors of the Kenya Fisheries Service (KFS).

Related Topics


Similar Articles


Recommended Articles