The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Kaptel High School: Where Eliud Kipchoge flopped in races

 Kaptel High School.

Kaptel High School was established in 1968 in Emgwen constituency, Kaptel Sub-location in Nandi County.

The first students were village boys who spent most of their days hawking milk.

Nicknamed The ‘Blue School’, it went on to help shine the light of knowledge on these young souls.

In 2009, the school received a much-needed facelift; the government built dormitories, laboratories and classrooms.

This was a much-needed jab especially for boys who had to trek or ride bicycles to and from school. Impassable roads and rugged steep terrain which got worse whenever it rained. This made learning a daunting task for the students.

Notable alumni guided by the school motto 'Strive to Excel' include 2018 Berlin Marathon winner and world record holder Eliud Kipchoge.

Surprisingly, Kipchoge never went beyond zonal school games competitions and often took to hawking milk in Kapsabet town, 60 kilometres away on a bicycle.

 Eliud Kipchoge.

Others who donned the navy blue trousers and sweaters, white shirts are Peter Koech, the 1988 Seoul Olympics silver medalists in 3000m steeplechase and Benard Kipchirchir Lagat, Kenyan born American middle and long distance runner.

Others who were weaned on mursik, ugali with traditional vegetables and retired to Samoei and Chepkolus dormitories are former Agriculture CS Willy Bett, CO Department of Sports, Nandi county government Kennedy Cheruiyot Tanui. Tanui is also a former lecturer.

Others who rode the school bus nicknamed "the bicycle" are Dr Abraham Kiprop Mulwo, senior communications lecturer Moi University, Chesumei Constituency MP Hon Elijah Lagat -- also a former Boston Marathon champion.

Others are Dr Elly Kibet Cherwon, a medic in Heidelberg, Germany, Nandi County Public Service Board chair Samuel K Too, Noah Kemboi of Kenya Seed Company and Dr Philemon Lagat who is based in Illinois, USA.

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week


Similar Articles


Recommended Articles