The 32nd MTV Video Music Awards was held on Sunday, August 30 at the Microsoft Theatres in Los Angeles. The award show had numerous bizarre moments; you would think the celebrities were trying to outdo each other. Nonetheless, the motive of the show, to honour outstanding artists, was achieved.

Here are the categories and the winners:

BEST HIP HOP VIDEO - Anaconda (Nicki Minaj)

BEST MALE VIDEO - Uptown Funk (Mark Ronson ft. Bruno Mars) 

BEST FEMALE VIDEO - Blank Space (Taylor Swift)

VIDEO WITH A SOCIAL MESSAGE - One Man Can Change the World (Big Sean ft. Kanye West and John Legend)

ARTIST TO WATCH – Trap Queen (Fetty Wap)

VIDEO OF THE YEAR – Bad Blood (Taylor Swift feat Kendrick Lamar)

BEST ROCK VIDEO – Uma Thurman (Fall Out Boy)

BEST POP VIDEO – Blank Space (Taylor Swift)

SONG OF THE SUMMER – She's Kinda Hot (5 Seconds of summer)

BEST COLLABORATION - Bad Blood (Taylor Swift feat Kendrick Lamar)

BEST DIRECTION - Kendrick Lamar, "Alright" (Colin Tilley & the Little Homies)

BEST CHOREOGRAPHY - OK Go, "I Won’t Let You Down" (OK Go, air:man and Mori Harano)

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY - Never Catch Me (Flying Lotus feat. Kendrick Lamar, Larkin Sieple)

BEST ART DIRECTION - Snoop Dogg, "So Many Pros" (François Rousselet, Jason Fijal)

BEST EDITING - Best Editing: Beyoncé, "7/11" (Beyoncé, Ed Burke, Jonathan Wing)

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS - Where Are U Now, Skrillex and Diplo feat Justin Bieber, (Brewer, Gloria FX, and Max Chyzhevskyy)