The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Mughal triumphs during Sigona Chairman's prize

 Gakuo Ndirangu in action during the Chairman Prize 2023 at Sigona Golf Club in Kiambu county, December 9, 2023. [Mose Sammy, Standard]

Shokat Mughal carded a differential score of 37 points to lift the Sigona Chairman (Gakuo Ndirangu) 2023 prize over the weekend.

Mughal, playing off handicap seven, had a great outing on Friday, where he posted 73 Nett and picked 36 stableford points during the penultimate to register the winning score.

Haki Sehmi, also playing off handicap seven, came in second on a differential score of (74-34) 40 points with handicap 17, James Nyutu, was the overall winner third on a differential score of (79-37) 42 points.

Overall, the Lady winner prize was won by a handicap 25, Maureen Wroe, on a differential score of (72-26) 46 points.

Playing the least strokes to claim the Overall Gross winner prize was Ronak Malde, playing off handicap four, who carded (78+85) for a total of 163 Gross points.

Among the former club Chairmen, Hitesh Patel, playing off handicap 17, returned a differential score of (82-37) 45 points to win the Best Past Chairman prize.

While the Best Past Director prize went to a handicap 13, Palkesh Shah, on a differential score of (82-29) points. David Kioko, playing off handicap 20, won the Overall sponsor winner prize on a differential score of (80-35) points.

On Saturday, the Men winner prize was won by a handicap 26, Priyav Bhandari, on an authoritative score of 47 stableford points. Mary Wainaina, playing off handicap 18, was the Lady winner on a score of 39 stableford points.

The gross winner prize went to a handicap one, Kush Mediratta, who carded 75 Gross points. Youngster, Ethan Kinuthia, playing off handicap 18, won the Junior prize on a score of 23 stableford points.

Vet Lab Sports Clubs' Mark Karobia, playing off handicap 12 was the best Guest golfer on a score of 38 stableford points.

In the commercials, Cyrus Kanyi won the Longest Drive Men Prize. Mary Wainaina won the Longest Drive Lady winner prize.

DS Virdi bagged the Nearest to the Pin Men prize, with Mary Wainaina claiming a hat trick upon winning the Nearest to the Pin Lady's prize.

Earlier on Friday, handicap 14, Rishi Savla, was the Men winner on 73 Nett. The Lady winner prize went to a handicap 44, Wangui Kinyanjui, who carded 76 Nett.

Related Topics


Popular this week


Latest Articles