× Digital News Videos Opinions Cartoons Education U-Report E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS
Swamibapa beat Stray Lions 'A' Team by six wickets in the Nairobi province Cricket Association (NPCA) league match at Peponi School off Thika Road last Sunday.
Steve Tikolo, captain of Stray Lions won the toss and elected to bat first.
Stray Lions put up a respectable score of 239 all out in 48.4 overs.
Emmanuel Bundi steady 85 runs, Nelson Odhiambo resilient 41, Kavi Dosaja 37 and Tanzeel Ahmed 20 steered Stray Lions to the target in the first innings .
Nehemiah Odhiambo starred in Swamipaba bowling with 4-46, Mitesh Sangani was 2-35 and Mike Abwamba 2-46.
In reply, Swamibapa scored the required runs - 241 for the loss of 4 wickets.
The highlight of the Swamibapa's innings was the first wicket match winning partnership of 147 runs between Alex Obanda's 95 runs and Francis Otieno 38.
Later on, former national team captain and wicket keeper Maurice Ouma also played a pivotal and classy knock of unbeaten 54 runs and Ashish Bhatt contributed valuable 20 runs as Swamibapa cruised to the winning target.
Tanzeen Ahmed bowled well to capture 4 wickets for 42 runs.
The match was umpired by Narendra Dave and Subhash Modi while the scorers were Margaret Banja and Mercyline Adhiambo.
Tom Tikolo, the NPCA chairman was on the ground as an official observer of NPCA
Across borders, a five-for from pacer Kane Richardson set up a 28-run win for Australia A against India A in the opening game of the quadrangular A-team one-day series.
Earlier, a 116-run, fifth-wicket stand between Alex Doolan and Mitchell Marsh lifted a struggling Australia A innings to 7 for 252.
Doolan missed his maiden List A hundred by four runs, while Marsh scored a brisk 63.
Richardson got the first breakthrough for Australia A, breaking an opening stand of 39 between Unmukt Chand and Robin Uthappa, reports Cricinfo.
However, the game turned in Australia A's favour during an eight-over period between the 12th and 20th overs, when India A lost five wickets for 19 runs.
Marsh accounted for Manish Pandey in the 12th over and in the next one, Richardson dismissed Uthappa and Manoj Tiwary off successive balls.
India A had limped to 4 for 84 in the 20th over, when Marsh got the wickets of Ambati Rayudu and Akshar Patel. He eventually finished with figures of 3 for 41.

Covid 19 Time Series


School Thika Road Lions
Share this story

Read More