Kenya Lionesses to face Springbok Women in South Africa test series

Kenya Lionesses in action against South Africa's Springboks Women in a past match.[Courtesy]

The national rugby 15s women's team, Lionesses departed to South Africa on Tuesday ahead of their two test matches against the Springbok Women’s team to be played at the Stellenbosch Academy of Sport.

Kenya Lionesses welcomed back eight stars who took part in the Tokyo Olympic Games ahead of the South Africa assignment.

Immediate Kenya Lionesses captain at the Olympic Games Philadelphia Olando leads fellow sevens stars Janet Okello, Sheila Chajira, Cynthia Camilla, Leah Wambui, Judith Auma, Grace Adhiambo and Christabel Lindo as reinforcements in the 15s team.

However, Lionesses will miss the services of Emmaculate Awuor and Janet Kerubo through injury but will be boosted by the return of eight Olympians.

The ladies had weekly residential camps for the last one month which included two midweek training sessions at the RFUEA Grounds.

The test matches are scheduled to be held on August 12 and August 16 at the Stellenbosch Academy of Sport in Cape Town.

The Lionesses and South Africa last met during the 2019 Africa Cup-cum-World Cup qualifying tournament.

Kenya lost 39-0 to finish the four-nation competition in second place as South Africa booked the ticket to the global competition.

Kenya will use the matches to prepare for their Rugby World Cup repechage qualifier match against Colombia on August 25 at the Nyayo National Stadium in Nairobi.

The winner of the Kenya-Colombia clash will play second-placed teams from Europe, Asia, and Oceania qualifying events for a place at the 2022World Cup to be held in New Zealand.

Full Squad

Mercy Migongo(Homeboyz RFC), Priscah Nyerere(Impala Saracens), Staycy Atieno(Mwamba RFC), Ann Gorety(Impala Saracens), Linet Moraa(Homeboyz RFC), Sophia Ayieta(Homeboyz RFC), Philadelphia Orlando(Northern Suburbs), Sheila Chajira(Homeboyz RFC), Diana Kemunto(Impala Saracens), Laurine Akoth(Top Fry Nakuru), Peruce Muyuka(Northern Suburbs), Bernadette Olesia(Northern Suburbs), Cynthia Camilla(Homeboyz RFC), Leah Wambui(Homeboyz RFC), Judith Auma(Impala Saracens), Faith Marindany(Northern Suburbs), Evelyne Kalemera(Mwamba RFC), Everlyne Akinyi(Mwamba RFC), Joy Kendagor(Northern Suburbs), Naomi Amuguni(Mwamba RFC), Winnie Owino(Impala Saracens), Knight Otwoma(Impala Saracens), Grace Adhiambo(Top Fry Nakuru), Janet Okello(Mwamba RFC), Rose Otieno(Northern Suburbs), Dorcas Mokaya(Homeboyz RFC), Mitchelle Akinyi(Impala Saracens), Christabel Lindo), Juliet Nyambura(Northern Suburbs), Ann Njeri(Impala Saracens).