× Business BUSINESS MOTORING SHIPPING & LOGISTICS DR PESA FINANCIAL STANDARD Digital News Videos Health & Science Lifestyle Opinion Education Columnists Moi Cabinets Arts & Culture Fact Check Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Dairy farmers targeted in new bonus plan

By Gilbert Kimutai | October 20th 2020
By Gilbert Kimutai | October 20th 2020

Dairy farmers in the country are set to start enjoying extra pay for their produce.

This follows a plan by the New Kenya Cooperatives Cremaries to start paying annual bonuses to its suppliers, Managing Director Nixon Sigei disclosed on Monday.

Sigei said the new bonus scheme to be launched next year is aimed at motivating dairy farmers to increase production and meet KCC demand following the recent modernisation of its factories.

Sigei said through the new scheme they hope to increase earnings for dairy farmers in the country and make the venture more attractive.

He made the announcement at Sotik KCC plant on Friday during a meet-the-farmers tour, the managing director said through the arrangement they will ensure KCC realise its prospects in the production of milk to meet the growing demands in the country.

The company, he said, has already piloted a quality-based payment system to rewards farmers on the quality of their milk.

He, however, pointed out that the additional pay will only be effective once the ongoing modernisation process of all KCC factories across the country is complete.

Share this story
Medical insurers return to profit
Net income for the period grew 14.4 per cent to Sh211.7 billion in 2019 up from S185.04 billion in 2018.
CS Najib Balala summoned over stalled project
There have been reports of cut-throat competition between agencies under the Ministry of Tourism.