No laughing matter: Celebs mixed bag of goodies in polls

Media personality Felix Odiwuor, alias Jalang’o. [Stafford Ondego, Standard]

The 2022 General Election saw youthful celebrities try their luck in the murky waters of politics. However, only a handful have managed to clinch the seats, making their way into the next Parliament.  

UDA candidate Nixon Korir conceded an early defeat in the Lang’ata parliamentary race, paving the way for his competitor, media personality Felix Odiwuor, alias Jalang’o.

Korir said he made his move following tally results which showed Jalang’o leading and congratulated him saying, “chuki si siasa.”

“From the results that we’ve tallied at the Generali Centre, my competitor Jalang’o has a lead and I want to congratulate him as he prepares to take over the mantle and move Lang’ata forward,” he wrote on Facebook.

Sportpesa CEO Ronald Karauri is the incoming Member of Parliament for Kasarani Constituency after garnering 32,406 votes, defeating John Njoroge and Mercy Gakuya with 30,444 and 24,790 votes, respectively.

“What God has done no man can undo. It’s a new dawn in Kasarani. Kazi ianze sasa. #Captain Ronald Karauri- #Incoming Kasarani MP,” Karauri wrote on Twitter.

Former KBC anchor Naisula Leesuda has retained her seat as the Samburu West MP. Lesuuda, whose political journey started in 2013 when she was nominated to serve as a senator, became the first woman to be elected as an MP from Samburu County in August 2017.

“Thank you God and the people of Samburu West. Mbele Pamoja and as always Mungu Mbele,” she wrote on Twitter.

Former KBC anchor Naisula Leesuda. [Gideon Maundu, Standard]

21-year-old environmentalist Anita Soina had every intention to bring change to her people as she went for the Kajiado North MP seat.


However, Anita says her journey into politics has been full of challenges and obstacles but instead, she took it as an opportunity to “learn, interact and share ideas and possible solutions to our challenges.”

After tallying the results, the Spicewarriorske Founder conceded defeat in favour of UDA’s Onesmus Nguro Ngogoyo for the Kajiado North constituency.

“In a competition amongst 16 candidates, only one was meant to be the winner and so I Anita Soina, The Green MP, concede defeat and promise to support the Kajiado county government and the national government where needed as we strive to make Kajiado and Kenya a better place for every citizen,” said Soina.

Comedian Jasper Muthomi aka MC Jessy was seeking to “redefine” South Imenti but lost the parliamentary seat, terming experience in politics as a “journey of daring hearts.”

Comedian Jasper Muthomi aka MC Jessy. [Jenipher Wachie, Standard]

“I personally want to congratulate my worthy competitor Dr Shadrack as he prepares to be the new MP for South Imenti. To my supporters, take heart ni Siasa tu, let’s keep moving South Imenti as one Great Community,” wrote Mc Jesse.

Radio presenter Mary Njambi Koikai, aka Jahmby Fyah Mummah, said she had first-hand experience with Dagoretti South constituency’s harsh living conditions, including healthcare and security challenges, as well as lack of amenities.

However, even though she did not get the chance to fulfil her promises after conceding defeat, Koikai says she’s still committed to bettering the lives of Dagoretti South residents.

“We built a grassroots movement, we inspired people, we had big ideas to transform the lives of the people in Dagoretti South. However, we did not reach our goal. Although I will not be able to fulfil your hopes, I will continue my commitment to the betterment of the people of Dagoretti South,” Koikai wrote on Instagram.

Footballer and UDA’s McDonald Mariga came in second in the Kibra parliamentary race with 20,049 votes, after ODM’s Peter Orero who garnered with 33,008 votes, while the incumbent Kibra MP Imran Okoth (independent) came third with 18,901 votes.

Celebrities Gabriel Kagundu aka Gabu, and Davidson Ngibuini, popularly known as DNG, went head to head for the Woodley Golf Course Member of County Assembly seat.

Davidson Ngibuini, popularly known as DNG. [David Gichuru, Standard]

However, Gabu conceded defeat in favour of DNG, saying he would take into account the lessons he learnt and come back even stronger.

Leading the tally results, DNG posted on Instagram saying, “We fought hard as a team. We have campaigned hard as a team and have overcome all odds as a team. Most importantly, God has seen us through.”

Gospel musician Eko Dydda, who ran as an independent candidate, also lost the Mathare North Ward MCA seat.

Singer Kevin Bahati was yet to know his fate in the Mathare parliamentary race by the time of publishing this.