Nairobi City Stars cage Sharks to move second in FKF-PL

Nairobi City Stars' Anthony Kimani, Ezekiel Odera and Timothy Ouma celebrate their victory against Gor Mahia at The Nyayo National Stadium during FKF Premier League on thursday, Dec 30, 2021. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

Nairobi City Stars cut the gap between them and FKF Premier League leaders Kakamega Homeboyz to within two points after narrowly defeating Kariobangi Sharks 1-0 in a top of the table clash at MISC Kasarani Stadium.

Ezekiel Odera scored the lone goal of the match in the 63rd minute to send City Stars second in the log with 31 points.

City Stars were bullish ahead of the match despite getting only two points in their last two games against leaders Kakamega Homeboyz (4-4 and 1-1 back to back draws) but the points were hard earned after coming from behind to salvage a draw on both occasions.

Sharks were also brimming with confidence if their last result (3-0 win over Sofapaka) was anything to go by but they could not just score goals.

The defeat leaves Sharks third on 28 points.

Elsewhere in Kakamega, Vihiga Bullets held KCB to a barren draw in a clash staged at the Bukhungu Stadium.

The result comes as a huge blow to KCB who were looking to apply pressure on log leaders Kakamega Homeboyz.

Meanwhile, all eyes will be on Gor Mahia new coach Andreas Spier who replaced British coach Mark Harrison and his technical bench who were fired for poor performance.

The German tactician will lead K’Ogalo in his first match against Posta Rangers who thrashed them 3-0 on January 26 which led to the axing of Harrison.

Kariobangi Sharks Lineup:

Brandon Nathan, Tom Teka, Boniface Onyango, Alphonse Omija, Julius Masaba (John Omondi 80'), Fredrick Alushula (Geoffrey Onyango 74'), Patillah Omolo, Douglas Mokaya, Fortune Omoto (Enock Wanyama 80'), Felix Oluoch, Henry Juma.

Nairobi City Stars Lineup:

Jacob Osano, Calvins Opolo, Kennedy Onyango, Salim Abdalla, Dennis Wanjala, Peter Opiyo (Elvis Noor 46'), Sven Yidah, Oliver Maloba, Davis Agesa (Nicolas Kipkirui 78'), Mike Madoya, Ezekiel Odera (Rodgers Okumu 78').