FKF caretaker committee suspends all the top tier football leagues for two weeks

Football Kenya Federation (FKF) President Nick Mwendwa addressing the media at Lamada Hotel on November 11th 2021 dismissing the Caretaker Committee that was formed by CS Amina Mohamed [Boniface Okendo,Standard]

The Football Kenya Federation Caretaker Committee on Friday afternoon announced the suspension of all the top tier football leagues in the country for two weeks.

According to a press statement, The FKF Premier League, National Super League, Division One, Women’s Premier League and Division One Leagues remain suspended at least until November 26.

“Following a meeting of the football Kenya federation caretaker committee this morning, it has been unanimously decided to suspend The FKF Premier League, National Super League, Division One, Women’s Premier League and Division One Leagues for a period of two weeks starting today (Friday) November 26,” read the statement.

The decision was reached to ensure regularization of the leagues' activities across the countries.

The committee also said that it will be engaging with clubs and other football stakeholders in due course.

The statement further added that all grassroots leagues will continue.

“The leagues running under the branches and sub-branches should continue as normal” added the statement.

On Thursday sports Cabinet Secretary Amina Mohamed disbanded Football Kenya Federation and appointed a caretaker committee to run the football.

The CS had revealed that FKF’s disbandment was taken following a government investigation into FKF finances having failed to account for funds received.

The top tier football leagues suspension comes hours after Sports Cabinet Secretary, Amina Mohamed gazetted the newly appointed Football Kenya Federation Caretaker Committee and Secretariat.

The 15-member committee will be chaired by retired judge Aaron Ringera.

Other members include General (Rtd) Moses Oyugi, Fatma Adan, Philip Musyimi Mue, Anthony L. Isayi, Elisha Chepchieng Kiplagat, Hassan Mahmoud Haji, Fredrick Tureisa Lekesike and Mwangi Muthee, Neddy Atieno, J. J Masiga, Bobby Ogola, Richard Omwela, Titus Kasuve, and Ali Amour.

The secretariat will be led by Linda Oguttu, who will be assisted by Michael Mucheni and Lorine Nerea Shitubi. Members will be Caesar Handa, Habo Mwachiro, Edward Rombo, Hiba Hussein, Gabriel Warigi, Dr Walter Ongeti, Rashid Khamisi Ali Shedu, Hon. Rachael Kamweru and Robin Toskin.

Sports Cabinet Secretary Amb. Amina Mohamed also handed over the FKF Inspection Report to FKF Caretaker Committee chair Justice (Rtd) Aaron Ringera on Friday, November 12, 2021.