× Digital News Videos Africa Health & Science Opinion Columnists Education Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Arts & Culture Gender Planet Action Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS


Riders re-energised as 2010 achievers feted

By | Jan 25th 2011 | 2 min read


The 2011 Kenya National Motocross Championship is getting gutsy for some pure adrenaline at Jamhuri Park on Sunday with riders looking invigorated and confident.

Such was the feeling of competitors when East African Motor Sports Club (EAMSC) feted its 2010 motocross and Enduro achievers at Panari Hotel at the weekend.

Amidst frantic pre-season preparations, competitors looked composed and ready to get into their strides and welcomed the inclusion of one extra round which makes up nine-rounds for the 2011 motocross championship.

From left Rolf Kihara, Tutu Maina, Githuku Mungai and David Murigi during the East African Motor Sports Club Awards on Sunday. [PHOTO: BONIFACE OKENDO/STANDARD]

Regional AMU champion Ivan Guya was received the Tom Porter trophy for the MX85 Championship.

Cruze Muigai was feted for his MX2 class exploits, while Shivam Vinayak carried home four trophies namely Richard Njoba Shield and Duckwort Lewis finishing tops at the MX1 National Championship for the second year running, winning back to back Central Africa AMU Championship and the Enduro 125cc title, which he has won three times in a row.

"I expect stiff opposition from my opponents both from MX1 and MX2 this year. After winning all these awards, I am sure they are working hard to break my record," said Vinayak who is confident of winning the Africa Enduro Championship in Nairobi in October.

"I think of investing on a new motor bike because motocross and Enduro settings are completely different. It is only then that I will try to practice, maybe do some Enduro races in the National series to prepare for the continental event," continued Vinayak.

The Ladies Merit Award went to MX65 rider Nikita Sehmi and her MX85 counterpart Ashley Njoroge for being the only girl-riders in the circuit. Tej Sehmi took home the Neil Granger Brown Trophy (Spirit of the event).

MX 50 siblings Rolf Kihara and his Dekker Kihara were all smiles with the Most Meritorious Award.

Kihara is moving up to MX65 after an outstanding performance since joining the sport midway through and winning the last three races as well as the AMU in Kampala in December last year.

Share this story
Chepkurui seeking fourth straight run at World Cross
Lineth Chepkurui turns only 23 four days after the February 19 National Championships but as far as the World Cross is concerned, the Kenya Airforce Senior Private based at Moi Airbase is already a veteran.
When Njonjo almost resigned over coffee smugglers
Known as the era of black gold, it began in 1976 when Ugandan farmers decided to sell their coffee in the private market.