Ruto swears in 20 High Court judges, stresses integrity

20 High Court judges sworn in on May 14.[Photo, Judiciary X]

President William Ruto has called on judges to uphold the principles of democracy, freedom, and social justice as he presided over the swearing-in of twenty new High Court judges. 

The ceremony, held following their appointment by the President on the recommendation of the Judicial Service Commission, marks a significant moment in Kenya’s Judiciary.

In his address, on Tuesday, May 14,  Ruto urged the judges to serve with integrity and professionalism, highlighting the detrimental impact of judicial corruption.

 “Corruption, even the slightest hint of it, irreversibly compromises the authority and effectiveness of our courts and all other institutions,” he said.

The president also outlined his administration’s commitment to supporting the judiciary, noting an increase in budgetary allocation from Sh87 billion to Ksh108 billion. 

The funds, he said,  are earmarked for infrastructure development, staff recruitment, and capacity building within law enforcement agencies.

Ruto further called for a united effort between the executive, Judiciary, and Legislature, as well as the media and civil society, to foster a just society.

The oath of office was administered by Chief Registrar, Winfridah Mokaya.

 The judges sworn in include Alexander Muteti, Rhoda Rutto, Francis Andayi, Noel Adagi Inziani, Joe Omido, Julius Nangea, Benjamin Njoroge, Caroline Kendagor, Stephen Mbungi, Linus Poghon and Tabitha Wanyama. 

Others are Moses Ado Otieno, Alice Soi, Benjamin Musyoki, John Lolwatan, Andrew Mwamuye, Julius Ng’arng’ar, Wendy Micheni, Emily Ominde and Helene Rafaela Namisi.

At the same time, eight advocates received the rank of Senior Counsel.

Among the new Senior Counsels are Charles Kanjama, Lilian Mwaura, McCourt Kevin Dermot, Mbuthia Gathenji, Jinaro Kipkemoi Kibet, Kamau Karori, Eric Kyallo Mutua and Allen Waiyaki Gichuhi.

The event held at State House, Nairobi, was also attended by Chief Justice Martha Koome, Deputy Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu, and other government officials.