Twelve Ol Kalou NG-CDF officials to be charged over Sh62 million roads deal saga

DPP Renson Mulele Ingonga during his vetting by the National Assembly's Justice and Legal Affairs committee at Parliament buildings, Nairobi on August 31, 2023. [Elvis Ogina, Standard]

Director of Public Prosecution Renson Ingonga has directed that twelve Ol Kalou NG-CDF officials be charged following their alleged involvement in a Sh62 million graft case.

The twelve include Ol Kalou NG-CDF chairperson John Kariuki, Simon Nduati, Ludovick Ngera, Jerusha Waithira, Samuel Ngungi, Peter Mburu, Charles Chuaga, Janerose Muthoni, Titus Kibui and Dominic Mulwa.

According to Ingonga, a total of Sh62 million was disbursed to the funds’ account, however, during the same period Sh55 million was withdrawn from the account in favour of the officials and seven companies, without following any procurement process.

The officials claimed that the expenditure was in support of various road works, sentiments which could not be confirmed as no document was provided in support.

Therefore, according to the DPP in absence of proof that the money was used for construction the twelve are eligible to face charges raised against them.