Senator James Murango elected as Senate Agriculture Committee chairperson

Kirinyaga Senator James Murango. [Andrew Simon, Standard]

Kirinyaga Senator James Murango has been elected as Senate Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries Committee Chairperson while Embu Senator Alex Mundigi has been elected Vice Chairperson.

Murango and Mundigi were unanimously elected by Committee members drawn from both Kenya Kwanza Alliance and Azimio La Umoja during an election held at Parliament buildings on Monday, October 17, where they promised to be impartial in the conduct of business.

Murango who formerly served as the Majority Leader in the Kirinyaga County Assembly before being elected as Senator said that they are coming to office at a time some parts of the country were facing severe drought and they will work urgently with the government to address the matter.

“We have a duty to work with the government to ensure that our country is food secure and also that the issue of drought in some parts of the country is addressed through coming up with mitigation measures to ensure that the situation is handled in a better way,” said Murango.

Mundigi said that despite the two of them being members of Kenya Kwanza Alliance they will ensure they put the country first every time they will have to address matters touching on their docket assuring members from Azimio La Umoja that they will work together for the good of the country.

Kitui Senator Enoch Wambua congratulated the senators on their election and said he believed that they would always approach issues in Agriculture in a nonpartisan manner.

“This is a critical committee that is tasked with ensuring that Kenyans have food on the tables and that our farmers are supported to ensure that they are able to produce enough food for our people and even a surplus for export to earn them an income-bearing in mind that agriculture is the backbone of the economy,” said Wambua.

Committee Members Senators; Wamatinga Wahome (Nyeri), Allan Chesang (Trans Nzoia), Maureen Mutinda (Nominated), Moses Kajwang (Homa Bay), Daniel Maanzo (Makueni), Enoch Wambua (Kitui) and Beth Syengo (Nominated) pledged to support the committee leadership.