Sospeter Ojaamong gets nod to vie for MP seat after IEBC clearance


Governor Sospeter Ojaamong with his new running mate Moses Mulomi after being issued with nomination certificate by IEBC in the 2017 election. [File, Standard]


The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has cleared Governor Sospeter Ojaamong to contest the Teso South MP seat on an ODM ticket.

Ojaamong submitted his nomination papers to Amukura IEBC Returning Officer, Carol Okki who cleared him after a one-hour session.

The development now means that Teso South ODM MP Geoffrey Omuse will defend his seat on an independent ticket.

Omuse had earlier indicated he would not face off with the governor in ODM nominations because he would "obviously be rigged out."

The immediate former MP of the constituency Mary Emaase (UDA) will submit her nomination papers on Tuesday.

"Our number one agenda is economic liberation of our people. We need to put our heads together so that we revamp the construction industries to create jobs for our youth," he said.

The governor who is serving his second and final term as governor was first elected in 2002 as MP for Amagoro Constituency, which was later split into Teso North and South constituencies after successfully dethroning the then legislator Albert Ekirapa.

He was re-elected in 2007 before going for Busia gubernor seat in 2013.

In Kakamega former senator Boni Khalwale presented his papers at Kakamega High School before he went round Kakamega Town.

Khalwale promised to "keep on toes the next governor" so that no cent belonging to the people of the largest rural county is lost.

Other leaders in the county who presented their appears were Mugali Kizito (DAP-K, Shinyalu), Emmanuel Wangwe (ODM, Navakholo) and Ambeyi Likabo (Independent, Shinyalu).

"We will make sure to deliver our votes to Azimio. I am confident of victory at the constituency and national level," said Kizito.